We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the jungle, along with incredible food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bajos del Toro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This place knows how to do everything right, down to the smallest detail. An often rainy area, the staff will walk you with umbrellas most places, park your car in the lower lot, clean your shoes, make you hot chocolate, light a huge fire in the stone fireplace, and warm up each of the suite's private jacuzzis. Victoria who runs the front office is incredible. The waterfalls on property are enormous, a very relaxing and comfortable place with incredible food and service. Make sure to arrive before dark if you're driving yourself, the road is challenging.

Room Tip: Any suite is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JeffreyHanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

We are delighted that you found a unique destination for rest and enjoyment of the cloud forest's intensity! It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we certainly look forward to your return. We will be glad to prompt wonderful travel memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon here at the end of October. It was the perfect way to unwind after our wedding and enjoy being alone together. The suites are amazing (comfiest bed we've ever slept in) and so cozy with your own hot tub and deck.

We loved that the suites have no tv/wifi so you can completely check out but then have access at the main lodge when need be. The meals were great. Staff was also top notch- Roberto welcomed us when we arrived and also took us on our horseback ride. We had a great couple of days there- highly recommend!

Room Tip: Peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

A celebration of romance in the cloud forest is a deeply magical experience! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We pride ourselves on offering a most intense connection to nature and a blissful state of relaxation. Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

This resort is quite far from any city so we had to eat all meals in the restaurant there , buy I really loved the place. The grounds are huge- we took a 2 mile hike to a waterfall & didn't see any other people. Staff is great, food good. Only drawback that my friend pointed out is that there is no entertainment. She felt isolated. The rest of our group was happy to have drinks at happy hour, sit on our private veranda & enjoy the view. If you are not an introspective person, this may not be the place for you

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wekall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our tranquil pace and strong connection to nature at its purest. El Silencio Lodge & Spa is set in a secluded swath of cloud forest, trimmed by two national parks and surrounded by hidden waterfalls. Our offsite day excursions let you explore nearby coffee haciendas, adventure parks, and local markets. But at night, the pace is as you mention... perfect for warm conversation and relaxation. Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We will be back. Went with my wife and 10 month old son. The staff was wonderful, the grounds were gorgeous, and the rooms were perfect. The level of service was unparalleled. Pure relaxation and immersion in nature. Pura Vida.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Arrash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

It was wonderful to be your hosts! Thanks for taking the time to share your enthusiasm about your experience. Our Private Villas are perfect for families with children of all ages. And our new Hierbabuena Restaurant offers the ideal ambiance for family dining. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

El Silencio has to be one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed in. Completely immersed in nature, gorgeous hikes, and outstanding staff who could not be more accommodating, gracious, and kind. Thank you William, Roberto, David and everyone else for being such wonderful hosts. The waterfalls are so beautiful and the food, much of it grown on site or locally sourced, is amazing! We will definitely come back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much Sarah! The unmistakable magic of the cloud forest truly charms the soul. We are grateful for our stunning surroundings and we hope that everything in our hospitality showcases that sense of peace, connection, and wellness. We were just named as a guest favorite in Condé Nast Traveler's Readers' Choice award as the #2 hotel in Central America and this motivates us to ever improve the guest experience. Please do return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bajos del Toro
15.7 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
19.2 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
905 reviews
19.7 km away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
28 km away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,853 reviews
20.2 km away
Termales del Bosque
Termales del Bosque
#1 of 2 in Quesada
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Silencio Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Silencio Lodge & Spa

Address: El Silencio Lodge, Bajos del Toro 21203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bajos del Toro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bajos del Toro
Price Range: €273 - €633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Silencio Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Silencio Lodge & Spa is a unique luxury cloud forest hotel set in Costa Rica's pristine Bajos del Toro region. Flanked by two national parks, this all-suite and private villa hotel combines upscale comforts with an intense natural immersion experience. Outstanding features include farm-to-table cuisine, a wellness spa, an adventure park, and authentic cultural experiences. Zip-lining, rappelling, horseback riding, waterfall hiking, oxcart painting, Tico cooking lessons and more can be enjoyed by couples and families (minimum age: 8). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your El Silencio Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Silencio Hotel Bajos Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing