We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveller rating
636
102
25
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
102
25
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub el silencio lodge eco concierge trout zip lining horseback riding our honeymoon on site rocking chairs cloud forest costa rica private jacuzzi tortillas hidden treasure turn down service hummingbird garden san jose
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 775 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon here at the end of October. It was the perfect way to unwind after our wedding and enjoy being alone together. The suites are amazing (comfiest bed we've ever slept in) and so cozy with your own hot tub and deck.

We loved that the suites have no tv/wifi so you can completely check out but then have access at the main lodge when need be. The meals were great. Staff was also top notch- Roberto welcomed us when we arrived and also took us on our horseback ride. We had a great couple of days there- highly recommend!

Room Tip: Peace and quiet
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

A celebration of romance in the cloud forest is a deeply magical experience! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We pride ourselves on offering a most intense connection to nature and a blissful state of relaxation. Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

This resort is quite far from any city so we had to eat all meals in the restaurant there , buy I really loved the place. The grounds are huge- we took a 2 mile hike to a waterfall & didn't see any other people. Staff is great, food good. Only drawback that my friend pointed out is that there is no entertainment. She felt isolated. The rest of our group was happy to have drinks at happy hour, sit on our private veranda & enjoy the view. If you are not an introspective person, this may not be the place for you

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wekall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our tranquil pace and strong connection to nature at its purest. El Silencio Lodge & Spa is set in a secluded swath of cloud forest, trimmed by two national parks and surrounded by hidden waterfalls. Our offsite day excursions let you explore nearby coffee haciendas, adventure parks, and local markets. But at night, the pace is as you mention... perfect for warm conversation and relaxation. Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We will be back. Went with my wife and 10 month old son. The staff was wonderful, the grounds were gorgeous, and the rooms were perfect. The level of service was unparalleled. Pure relaxation and immersion in nature. Pura Vida.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Arrash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

It was wonderful to be your hosts! Thanks for taking the time to share your enthusiasm about your experience. Our Private Villas are perfect for families with children of all ages. And our new Hierbabuena Restaurant offers the ideal ambiance for family dining. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

El Silencio has to be one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed in. Completely immersed in nature, gorgeous hikes, and outstanding staff who could not be more accommodating, gracious, and kind. Thank you William, Roberto, David and everyone else for being such wonderful hosts. The waterfalls are so beautiful and the food, much of it grown on site or locally sourced, is amazing! We will definitely come back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much Sarah! The unmistakable magic of the cloud forest truly charms the soul. We are grateful for our stunning surroundings and we hope that everything in our hospitality showcases that sense of peace, connection, and wellness. We were just named as a guest favorite in Condé Nast Traveler's Readers' Choice award as the #2 hotel in Central America and this motivates us to ever improve the guest experience. Please do return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The location is pristine and staff so courteous and truly interested in us. Knew my name and my wife's. Food and restaurant outstanding. So very comfortable lodge and individual cabin/mini lodge. Butterfly garden lifelong memory. Hikes gorgeous and went for 4 hr horseback ride into the valley-horses are absolutely loved and well taken care of, and guide Danny and horseman Johnny careful and knowledgeable. William offered so many options for activities. Martin and team at restaurant masters of making you feel special. We will return for sure. Only 1.75 hours from SJO, and airport is clean and safe. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Listen to the advice of staff-they know all about the ecosystem and area-all are long term staff there.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to dazzle you with Costa Rica's hidden cloud forest charms. It was a pleasure to be your hosts. Please do return whenever you need to reconnect with a special state of mind of tranquility and beauty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews