We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
23
30
8
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
30
8
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We arrived after a long journey with 2 motorcycles, the very rood gentleman at reception informed me that they did not have any rooms for us and although we had booked 5 days earlier they also did not contact us to let us know so we only found out on our arrival

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosenfuchs, Inhaber at Waldhotel Sonnenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016
Google Translation

Liebe Michele, danke für Ihre Kritik, auf die wir natürlich antworten müssen. Das Waldhotel Sonnenberg ist ein privat Hotel. Seit 40 Jahren betreiben wir, Familie Nübel, unser Hotel. Natürlich können Sie trotzdem wie in großen internationalen Hotels buchen: Wir nehmen Buchungen traditionell telefonisch, per Post, persönlich oder per E-Mail an. Das geht direkt über unsere Rezeption. Dort arbeiten Mechtild, Stefan oder Hermann Nübel. Gerne können Sie auch über die Online Portale (neudeutsch: Distributionskanäle) buchen: Booking.com, HRS.de, Hotel.de, Expedia.de Eifeltouristik usw...es gibt sehr viele. Neu ist, dass wir auch in TUI Belgien und TUI Niederlande buchbar sind. Wichtig für Sie als Kunden ist: egal wie und womit Sie buchen möchten: Kommen Sie zu uns ins schöne Waldhotel Sonnenberg in Bollendorf. Wir machen keine Unterschiede, ob ein Gast direkt oder über eine Vermittlung bei uns bucht - alle Gäste sind uns lieb und willkommen. Selbverständlich machen wir auch Fehler - in der Hochsaison kann es vorkommen, das das gleiche und letzte Zimmer im Hotel gleichzeitig von zwei Personen reserviert wird. Das ist technisch nicht auszuschließen. Es kommt bei 10.000 Reservierungen ungefähr 2 mal vor. Dann werden wir- und haben dies auch bei Ihnen - immer eine Lösung finden. Wir freuen uns über unsere zahlreichen Gäste und biten gerne die Unterkunft für Ihren Urlaub in der wunderschönen Landschaft der Eifel. Ihr Hermann Nübel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

nice view, great food, tasty breakfast, cozy bed, the only thing which bothered me was the pillow quality, the hotel staff should consider chancing the current pillows with ones more qualitative, head and shoulder sustainable.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deiuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosenfuchs, Manager at Waldhotel Sonnenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016
Google Translation

Lieben Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Ihr Hermann Nübel, Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We only wanted to pop in for a drink and a snack after a hike - what a mistake. A very rude waitress and VERY slow service.
I reckon we would have gotten our drinks quicker had we walked down into Bollendorf and gone elsewhere.
Definitely NOT recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Frau P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelberatung, Inhaber at Waldhotel Sonnenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear P.

We are so very sorry not to be able to satisfy your wishes. We appreciate wishes of all our dear customers. Our stuff and family Nübel itself guarantees service and personal wellness. Our restaurant is in service from 12:00 till 14:00 and 18:00 till 20:30 every day to start launch and dinner. Inbettween we serve small dishes. As you liked to order launch we produce fresh at your order. This takes time. In your case unfortunattly 20 minutes- more then you wanted to wait. We are sorry, you leaved, your food and beverage in front of your eyes. Our waitress- highly remommended from many many customers here on tripadvisor, on other websites and even more in our restaurant itself - she cried of this unusal situation. Next time please tell if you are in such a hurry in our location - called- eine Oase der Ruhe

Wir servieren auch Gerichte, die schnell zubereitet sind. Unsere Spezialitäten - wie frisch gekochter Spargel eignen sich leider nicht für eine schnelle Mahlzeit zwischendurch. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch und verbleiben

Yours
Hermann Nübel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Luckily, we only stayed here for one night; there is no way we would have stayed any longer.

The hotel is situated on a steep hill. Overall this hotel is very tired. It has shabby, worn and dangerous, rucked carpets in the corridors and stairways.The gentleman on reception was very brusque and unhelpful.

We booked through a booking agent, a room with a sofa and a balcony with a panoramic, mountain view.
What we got was very far from this, but we were still charged for the room we booked.

The room was small, a lot smaller than we were expecting from the description on line.
It had a table at the foot of the bed, but the space was so small that I hit my leg on the wooden frame of the bed trying to walk between them. There were 2 chairs with this table.
The sofa was actually just a single arm chair. There was not enough space to put a sofa in the room.
We were on the first floor and the balcony was a cut-out part of the small roof. It was a small square with a tiled floor and wooden sides. There was a piece of green felt-like fabric on the floor, (presumably to stop a person from slipping on wet tiles). This material was mucky. The edges of the floor and the bottom of all the wooden sides were covered in thick, black mould. There were 2 plastic chairs on this balcony which were also dirty. There was no privacy as the balcony could be seen through a window in the adjoining corridor; which could be opened and someone could have crawled over the roof and onto this balcony. The 'view' was of a pathetic children's play area and trees; definitely not panoramic, and not a mountain in sight, (which, given the size of mountains was quite a feet). The only rooms that have views are at the front of the hotel, we were at the back. Given what we had booked, this room was disgusting.
The bed was very low to the ground, but was okay for comfort.
The bathroom was very large, almost as big as the room itself, which wasn't needed.

The restaurant looked very nice, and had panoramic, mountain views.
The evening meal here would have been a lot better if the staff had been paying attention to the guests more. We booked a table for 19.30, and we arrived on time. The waitress, in a very harsh voice, told us that our table was over there, pointing in a direction. We then had to find it for ourselves, (every table had a guests name on it).
When our order was taken, the waitress told us to help ourselves from the salad bar. This was very difficult as there was virtually nothing there, almost all of the dishes were empty. Clearly the staff were not paying attention to this, and therefore not topping up those foods that became empty.
The main meal was lovely, cooked to perfection and quite large portions.
As we finished our meal, about an hour later, someone came out of the kitchen and topped up the salad bar.
Breakfast was also taken in the restaurant. This was a large buffet and very nice. The waitress for breakfast was pleasant and helpful.

We were glad to leave and we will never go back.

Room Tip: Only the rooms at the front have views
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alpine-lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Staid here on a weekend cycling trip of the Sauer Valley. Beautiful and relaxing hotel overlooking Bollendorf a brisk walk uphill from the village.

Rooms overlooking the valley offer excellent views and a balcony is definitely worth the while. Our room was pleasant and clean, although it could have used a touch of renovation.

Food in the hotel restaurant is excellent and very good value for money. Definitely recommended. The breakfast is hearty and good.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BalkanEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews