We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
463
119
50
24
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
119
50
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage pubthe secret gardenafternoon teaspa treatmentsprivate gardenpotager restaurantrelaxation roomsorbetjunior suitesteam roomhotel restauranthydrotherapy poolpotting shedhomemade biscuitsstable yardlittle toucheshuge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful traditional country house, with ultra chic rooms set in picturesque gardens with top notch service! We stayed for a long weekend break over the Easter period and had an indulgent, relaxing stay. On arrival we were greeted warmly and shown to room 11, the secret garden suite, an idyllic hideaway with its own private garden. This room looks impressive online and certainly doesn’t disappoint, it’s stunning! The communal areas are equally stylish, with roaring fires and comfortable armchairs to enjoy a tipple of your choice, with an impressive selection on gins. The staff are welcoming yet professional and are quietly on hand just when you need them - during our stay they arranged a private screening at the garden cinema as well as advised on cycle trails and even let us borrow some bikes to cycle to nearby Bidbury. All in all a great stay and highly recommend, we hope to be back again soon!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wooleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Booked this almost a month in advance to include dinner at the Pottager, a spa treatment (pregnancy massage, divine), and lunch at the Village Pub. We were very grateful of an upgrade to the beautiful Secret Garden, a real indulgent treat which is what we wanted for our 'babymoon'. Delicious food all round, shame the gardens were a little off limits due to the excessive Easter rain but they looked beautiful nonetheless! We could not find a single thing to complain about (and we have stayed in five star places and left feeling 'meh' before). Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. And dinner in the restaurant last night was excellent.

The secret garden suite is nice, as you get plenty of privacy having your own little annex.

Or so we thought...

Housekeeping just come straight to the door, through your private gate. No knock or warning. Just a knock at the door, and you’re then greeted by 3 staff standing there...the entire front of the property isl glass. Not great if you’re wearing no clothes. The "turn down service" was someone coming in and shutting our curtains. They didn't make the bed, they didn't take dirty towels in the bathroom out. Really poor service.

We also attempted to book a place in the spa for 2 people over a week ago. They only had 1 spot for 1 person on the Sunday. Fully booked out the rest of the weekend, so if you’re coming here, book your spa treatments AT LEAST a month or probably two in advance.

Oh well, figured we’d go and watch a film in the private cinema and relax there. Nope, can't do that either! Fully booked the whole time we’re here too. Why have a 30 seat cinema, and then allow TWO PEOPLE to book the whole thing out privately. Ridiculous.

Can’t help but feel you don’t have enough availability of your facilities for the number of guests you have on site. Kind of defeats the whole point of coming here, extremely disappointed, and completely ruined our 5 Year Anniversary, Thanks for that.

Hope this review will help other guests considering staying here not fall into this trap.
Waste of money, AVOID!

Room Tip: Don't pick a room. Book somewhere else. Waste of money.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank georgehenrypowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Lovely building and well kept gardens
Spa treatments though were far more expensive than those of other spa hotels, and frankly, of average quality.
Dinner was also overpriced, and very poor. Neither of us finished our meals, as they were dripping in oil and overcooked - it seems the house specialty lasagne had been cooked and then heated up.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank emmapgtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Stayed for one night with a friend. All the staff were helpful, the room was clean and well equipped, although there were lights including fairy lights directly outside, which meant that light coming through the blind was an issue. Dinner was expensive and disappointing. My friend had lasagne which was greasy and the pasta burnt. The spa was tasteful and the staff friendly but the treatments, a facial and a back massage were very expensive and our comments to each other were, 'it was ok'. All in all a rather ordinary experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews