We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel lovely touches”
Review of Barnsley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnsley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed at Barnsley House for 2 nights to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary.
We were in room 1 in the main house which is truly beautiful , gorgeous modern four poster bed in a period room full of old English style but all the mod cons required . Two side by side bath tubs in an enormous ensuite bathroom was a really incredible touch . White fluffy towels and bathrobes , luxurious toiletries and top quality tea and coffee .
We booked into the spa for two massage treatments and we were both delighted with the service provided by the ladies, the hydrotherapy pool outside at 35 degrees was a great experience, but the sauna and steam rooms were both luke warm so very disappointing .
We asked for an ice bucket to be put in our room at 5pm while we were out so that our champagne could be properly chilled for our return but it failed to appear so I had to chase it when we returned at 6 .
The bar is wonderful with a huge choice of gin , excellent cocktail barman who remembered our drinks and was really on the ball but service sometimes slow as he was on his own.
Breakfast both days was delicious but on our last morning we never got our toast , even though I chased it and was told it was on its way, we waited another few minutes but had finished our food and it still hadn't appeared, not sure how long it takes to make toast? We left before it arrived .
An enjoyable weekend but slightly tinged with disappointment that it wasn't perfect

Room Tip: All rooms different and unique with views of the incredible garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgriffiths25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Barnsley House at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello Sgriffiths25

Many thanks for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us at Barnsley House together with your treatments in the spa and that you were able to try a couple of the gins. We have shared your review with the team.

We hope to see you at Barnsley House again soon.

Kind regards
The Team at Barnsley House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Stunning retreat that definately left us feeling home away from home. Warm and cozy atmosphere, delicately combining historical architecture with perfectly modern furnishing, super friendly and welcoming staff always ready to help, beautiful romantic garden, breakfast that just could not have been better, unforgettable beds with mattresses that made sleeping a completely brand new experience and soo much more....personal cinema and private spa just to start with... Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Barnsley House at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Denisa O

Many thanks for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Barnsley House, we do pride ourselves on our House being a country retreat in the Cotswolds.

We hope that you were able to take advantage and watch a movie in the cinema and indulge yourself with a treatment in the spa.

Hoping to see you again soon.

Kind regards
The Team at Barnsley House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Indescribable place.
Elegant,discret,everything where they should be.
Suites,food and the spa will be always in my mind.
Just the pub a little strange.
Deep Hot Stones Massage conduct you to heaven in a blue
sky day

Room Tip: The Stables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mariafalcao2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Barnsley House at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello Mariafalcao2016

Many thanks for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to Barnsley House and the hot stone massage in the spa.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
The Team at Barnsley House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We stayed for the wedding of a good friend. All went smoothly and there were always plenty of staff around. Our room was very comfortable and pretty expansive. The schedule was pretty much adhered to and the party ended up going on without us but the room was still quiet and easy to imagine you were still in the peaceful retreat that the place normally is.

Room Tip: Check out the Potager and Vegetable Garden (after the spa)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Barnsley House at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello Daniel B

Many thanks for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your friends wedding and your recent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
The Team at Barnsley House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic small hotel with a focus on great food, perfect service and getting away from it all. Had a lovely lunch at their sister pub in the village and then used the spa and private movie theatre before a lovely dinner. Can't speak highly enough of this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank J9026HTmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Calcot at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi J9026HTmikeg

Many thanks for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to Barnsley House and Spa together with lunch at the village pub.

We do hope to see you back again soon.

Regards
The Team at Barnsley House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
23 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
4.3 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
984 reviews
31.1 km away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
777 reviews
6.1 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
838 reviews
35 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House

Address: Barnsley, Cirencester GL7 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range: €252 - €556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsley House is your very own (fully staffed) country house set in extensive landscaped gardens near Cirencester in Gloucestershire. The Hotel has a dedicated spa, private cinema and 18 large and luxurious bedrooms to choose from. The Potager restaurant looks out to the gardens and is quite lovely. Sprigs of rosemary and linen napkins dress the tables with menus inspired from the Barnsley garden seasonal crops and local produce. If you tire of the daily home baked bread and crumbly shortbread biscuits with your afternoon tea, you can always nip across the road to our village pub. It's actually called 'The Village Pub' and delivers everything you want a village pub to deliver - open fires, papers, pints and delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Barnsley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley House Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Hotel
Barnsley House Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing