We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
242
282
132
53
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
282
132
53
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course swimming pool the main house steam room conservatory area four poster tennis courts lovely hotel evening meal snooker room afternoon tea changing rooms cooked breakfast full english breakfast spa facilities lovely setting bar menu
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Just got home from a perfect stay at this hotel. Room and decor were excellent, staff were top class and food and facilities are excellent. Will definitely use the pool next time. Have just booked for a stay over the Easter weekend and we cannot wait

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank louism58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you Louisem58,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent stay fantastic Hotel Great facilities very good food very friendly staff. Close to Cricklade town and great location to visit Cotswold Water Park. Easy easy location to the M4 motorway. Enjoy the swimming pool in the jacuzzi

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NeilBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Neil,

Thank you for your fabulous review.

I will pass your comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for one night this was to include breakfast. The room we had was room 10 across from the main hotel in a small courtyard we were given room 10 which was a nice size and very clean and Mickey decorated.the onsuite bathroom was also very clean and spacious. I would say that some thought had been put into the refurbishment and we were more than happy with our room. The evening meal(£25.00 for 2 courses) which was booked separate was beautifully presented and cooked perfect. Our waitress Emma was very attentive, friendly and extremely helpful in her approach.
Breakfast was presented and served in a timely fashion and was more than sufficient again with a friendly smile.

Many thanks to all the team for a lovely experience

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Topchimp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Many thanks for your reveiw.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Booked a Dinner B&B break expecting to stay in a country house hotel. Looked beautiful on arrival, long driveway, beautiful main building inside and out. So far so good. We were allocated Room 8. This was not in the main building but across the car park in what is called a courtyard, which was a small square surrounded by doors, our only outlook was of walls and doors. The lack of light made the room dark and depressing. There were curtains and a blackout roller blind. No nets, so people walking by the only window could look straight in. If you pulled either the curtains or blind you were in the dark. The bathroom is of a type last seen in the early 70's with o a shower curtain rail seen in hospitals. It was desperately requiring a total refurb. Shabby in the extreme. The carpet in the room was absolutely filthy with spill marks. The kettle perched on the chest of drawers had a cable so short it would not reach the only plug socket on the adjacent walls. The plus points of the hotel are the restaurant, the food served there was delicious and the staff are all lovely. The grounds, whilst extensive, are given over to golf courses, so very little space to walk unless, like we did, you walk down the driveway and back. Fantastic views from the terrace behind the restaurant. Would only stay again if guaranteed a room in the main house. The courtyard room we had was not worth the money at all, dreadful. Great place to go for dinner though. Spoke to the receptionist as we left regarding the state of the room and she advised there is intention to refurbish these rooms soon, one can only hope that happens.

Room Tip: In the main house only is best
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your reveiw.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment, whilst our refurbishment is indeed planned, at present our rooms in the Courtyard offer greater value for money (in comparison to our rooms in the main house) .

Should you wish to return, I would urge you to book directly, rather than through a agent - not only would we be able to discuss specific rooms but we could also establish your expectation in an effort to achieving it.

Kind regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely location with stunning views, even in the pouring rain.
Great and helpful staff who are stretched to the max when busy but still smile and do their best to accommodate and help.
Rooms okay, some in progress of being updated and some better than others. Beds on small side.
Food very good although limited if staying for multiple nights. Would be nice to have more variety on cooked breakfast like veg option.
Bar could do with more selection of beers and ales. Obviously work in progress to bring up to spec but for the price and service very good.
Totally forgot about the pool and other facilities and feel these should be advertised more to guests!
Will stay again if in area.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank juicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to say that our menu has recently changed and offers c. 35 options for meals, and we do indeed offer a vegetarian breakfast option.

We are currently reviewing our beer range, and need to weigh up number of options as well as volume sold, however we will be opening our bar in a fortnight with 100 whiskies and 50 gins.

I hope we get to welcome you back and show you the improvements very soon.

Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews