We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whimsical Setting, Sensational Views and Amazing Food”

Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Secrets Cafe is a truly special place, nestled in the rainforest on the shores of Lake Baroon with panoramic views of the water, mountains and rainforest. This intimate connection with nature is enhanced by the incredible food prepared in house by our top chef Mathew Law and served by cafe manager Di Dennis and her passionate team of helpers. The cafe has been crafted with exquisite carvings and attention to detail. You may even find a unique gift for that special someone in our Art Gallery. Secrets Cafe and Deck has a fully licensed bar, stocked with a fine selection of spirits, wines, beers and cocktails. We are open six days a week, from Tuesday to Sunday 8:30am to 4:00pm.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A return visit for lunch with friends on a beautifully clear November day was an absolute treat. The menu is extensive as is the drinks list. The setting is sublime set high among the trees overlooking a tranquil lake with perfect service. We began with shared dips and lavosh bread, following up with mushroom cottage pie, wagyuburger and open club turkey sandwich. There are more substantial offerings but this selection was perfect for a lighter lunch. Each meal was very fresh, generous extremely tasty. Desserts could not be ignored and the pannacotta, brownie and mango dessert were all voted winners. Coffee is the perfect way to complete a delightful lunch.
Can’t rate this fine cafe highly enough. It ticks all the boxes and should be a must visit for anyone visiting or living on the Sunny coast! It also does breakfast which we have to try!!!!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarleneBlundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We found secrets by chance and were so pleased we did!
The food was delicious, the staff were friendly and attentive, and the woodwork and artwork was amazing. And then there was the view of the dam which was stunning.
We will definitely be back to visit again soon, thank you for such a lovely time.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank 479kathd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went in for breakfast which was all nice but the main highlight is the view of the dam and the amazing main bilding and tree houses. The wood carving work is incredible and is a must see.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Illshowyouwheretogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

I went to Secret cafe on the lake for high tea and wow, what a beautiful location. Great home made cakes and a great, well priced menu. The =cakes were fresh and big portions. The meals that came out looked very nice. I will go back for breakfast later tis week.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 135EdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Owner at Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thanks Ed George and I are very pleased we ticked all the boxes and would you to say hello when you come again! Kind regards Aldy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Fab little cafe restaurant aptly named. If you didn’t know about it you’d never come across it.
Great coffee and excellent breakfast with fantastic views and food.
Staff very friendly. Not overpriced and everything fresh and well cooked.
Amazing wood carvings and beautiful views over the lake. Gift shop.
Can highly recommend if you can find it.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 932deet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Owner at Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Don't really know how to respond as your kind words and detailed compliments bely the 4 stars you have offered? Kind regards George and Aldy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Secrets Cafe on the Deck at Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing