We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be fantastic when all the building work is finished!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be fantastic when all the building work is finished!”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed at apartment 8 The Gallops for 3 nights from 13 to 16 June for a birthday treat intending to play some Perthshire golf courses. We loved the apartment, lives up to the website description, my husband cooked our meals in the fabulous kitchen, could have moved in permanently, smashing 9 hole golf on the doorstep as well ..... however, be warned there is a timber framed building being constructed directly opposite, lots of banging and hammering from 9am to 5pm I assume Mon to Friday so unless you are going to be out all day, or are visiting at the weekend, this will not be a peaceful holiday. We could only sit on the patio after 5pm shame as the sun was gone by then, We understand that the building work will be completed by December, so would love to go back next Spring/summer. Thought £450 was expensive for 3 nights!

Room Tip: Ask for No 8 if you want to looking down the 1st
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank keengolfer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    43
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
242
119
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We arrived at the Gallops on one of the best days weather wise so we saw Kenmore in all its glory.The Gallops were immaculate inside,everything we could ever imagine was there, it was really home from home.We used the kitchen as we have a child and a dog, every utensil was there.The rooms were luxurious with a kingsize bed and ensuite, twin single beds in the other room again high standard of bed linen. Two minutes walk away which is great with kids is a restaurant (with a small play park)which can be a relaxed meal in the bar area or a dressed up affair in the restuarant itself. Both are child friendly and extensive menus. Also a small shop selling some lovely gifts and homemade tablet !! There is also a larger play park 2 minutes in another direction,swimming pool 10 mins drive away,horse riding, golf course (9holes which we loved) canoeing and some lovely walks along the River Tay. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and look forward to going back to explore more around the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hicup23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I and my family have stayed several times at Easter Bruadair simply because we can't resist. Kenmore is a little piece of heaven, beautiful scenery, and so peaceful. The local villagers are extremely friendly and very helpful. It is also an excellent place to stay for exploring Highland Perthshire. Easter Bruadair is the icing on the cake. It is the best accommodation we have ever rented. It has a wonderful, fully-equipped kitchen and the bedrooms are extremely comfortable, and very tastefully decorated as is the whole house.

Room Tip: The balcony overlooking the 1st tee is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2011

The perfect balance of luxury, activity and relaxation. Tay View Lodge in Castle Gardens, Kenmore is a fantastic self catering property - it has everything you need for an extremely comfortable and luxurious holiday, it was very well maintained and spotlessly clean. A superb location for many outdoor activities - we especially enjoyed the many cycling routes on quiet picturesque roads and off- road trails. The autumn colours were stunning and provided endless photographic opportunities. Visit to the nearby Crannog was really interesting. The shops and coffee shops in nearby Aberfeldy are a perfect distraction on a wet day. Relaxing in the hot-tub, watching the stars with a glass of fizz is sheer bliss after a long day of activities! There are great dinning out locations from the Courtyard - a mere 2 min walk away - to the Fortingall hotel for special occasions. We would highly reccomend this property to others and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sheilamillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

What should have been the perfect relaxing holiday to celebrate a 70th birthday with the family was ruined because of the 8am start to the day with drills, hammers, etc due to the building of more apartments. We couldn't even sit out to enjoy the views because of the disturbance. We expect this when abroad but not here in UK.

Perhaps if we had been notified to expect this and maybe if some discount was offered to apologise for this? Don't go till they are finished if looking for the peace and quiet the location thoroughly deserves. Apart from this the house (Western Bruadair) and the area were very good.

One other gripe - no wi-fi/internet available in the house.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HutchieFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 April 2011
We are so sorry! There is no excuse for this, it was such a bad slip up in our customer care.

Because of the severe winter we were well behind with the completion of our latest luxury holiday houses and anticipated that the building work would have been further on than it was though we are glad to say that most of the noisy work is now complete.

We neglected to convey this to these guests prior to their arrival and the report is especially embarrassing as they are returning guests who obviously love our area and our exceptional houses. On receipt of the complaint we immediately contacted the guests and we are delighted they accepted our private apology and look forward to seeing them again in the near future.

With regards to the WiFi in Wester Bruadair, it is free but pretty slow due to rural connections!! The good news is that Mains of Taymouth will soon have blanket WiFi after the installation completion of our new network.

There are a number of great reviews about Wester Bruadair on our website and we hope that guests to the house will continue enjoying the ambience of this wonderful house and fantastic location.
We still have some building work going on adjacent to the new apartments at The Gallops but we anticipate that this will not disturb anyone else at Mains of Taymouth.

Whilst we are completing the work at The Gallops, we are offering fantastic deals in these luxury 5* apartments. They are superb and apart from the great reviews posted on TripAdvisor, there are further reviews on our website testimonial page.

Along with our wonderful location with great facilities on our door step, our aim is to offer the best self-catering accommodation in Scotland.

This is the quote from the neighbouring house who stayed at the same time as the review above - just to confirm that it’s not all bad!!

“Just to say thank you for a splendid few days. The accommodation was first class - certainly the finest self catering accommodation we have ever had and we holiday this way a few times every year and have done for many years. It was great to have the dog with us - the garden being safe for him to wander around. Security gates top and bottom of stairs made it safe for our two little ones and they certainly enjoyed the spaciousness of the accommodation. Every success in the future”.

PS – 25 degrees Celsius at 5pm yesterday afternoon, the sun is still shining, the birds are singing, the buds are budding and Highland Perthshire is looking fantastic!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.4 km away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
869 reviews
9.0 km away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,451 reviews
14.4 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.7 km away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
755 reviews
20.0 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,892 reviews
0.3 km away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Property: Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing