We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan”
Review of Shaka Bohol

Shaka Bohol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Description: Tired of bbq and rice? We care about you, that is why we only offer fresh and real foods, no additives, preservatives or sachets, only the freshest fruits and vegetables with some superfoods thrown in for the added benefits to fuel your body. we offer good beats, real cocktails, craft beer, quality filipino espresso and an assortment of tasty healthy meal options all at a reasonable price.
Restaurant details
Description: Tired of bbq and rice? We care about you, that is why we only offer fresh and real foods, no additives, preservatives or sachets, only the freshest fruits and vegetables with some superfoods thrown in for the added benefits to fuel your body. we offer good beats, real cocktails, craft beer, quality filipino espresso and an assortment of tasty healthy meal options all at a reasonable price.
Reviewed 1 April 2019 via mobile

We came here 4 times during our short time in Bohol. Most of the food is delicious. The smoothie bowls are gorgeous to look at and eat and are super filling. The pancakes are also amazing and the portion is huge! I loved the vegetable lasagna. The vegan burgers are amazing too as are the jackfruit nachos. The only meal I didn’t like at all was the mango curry. It is literally a big bowl of bland rice with mango in it. There is lots of choice on the menu. The juices are really good. Prices are on the high side.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank sazobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 67 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2019 via mobile

We tried a handful of different menu items and they we good. However, I’ve never seen a dish which is as ripped off like the mango & red bean curry Do not order it unless you want only rice on your plate!

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank Divedeepz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

The food here is super delicious. And finally a menu with a big choice of vegan food in Philippines. It’s a shame that always when you want to eat good you have to “pay good” we had 2 main dishes which tasted like heaven, a thick juicy smoothie and a local beer which was out of this world - amazing - and we payed 1,020 pesos. You be the judge.

With that being said. If you are going to treat yourself for once. This is the place to do it. And when you do - make sure to order a smoothie with it. Massive and filling!

This is a trend that needs to spread.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank marvinbrantklev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

We had the san jose burger and something-kook smoothie bowl and both were tasty and a welcome change from all the rice. However we did find it a bit overpriced. We ordered the fries for sharing to takeaway and the portion was tiny, barely for one person so that was disappointing. Also no beer or drinks other than craft beer and cocktails which were expensive.. we ended up spending over 1000 pesos with a pitcher of juice as well (which we couldn't finish because it was too sweet).
All in a there are nicer places to eat at Alona beach if you're after healthy food, like the Buzz Cafe.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Yoneta-izvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bplums, Owner at Shaka Bohol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2019

Hi,
We have plenty of drinks, fruit juices, smoothies, coffee's, tea's, cocktails, craft beers and homemade soft drinks. the sweetness you would of experienced is from the fruits them selves. we don't use any artificial sweeteners or additives in any of our products.

please don't be shy to ask our floor staff how we can best fulfil your desires.

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

We went there to have breakfast and we took a bowl of açai, banana, mango and granola. It was amazing, really. However the tea that we asked for was not so good, due to the green tea that we asked, smelled and tasted as nori algae, we decided to leave it there without serving.
Good attendance.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank JorgeRuizSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaka Bohol also viewed

 
Panglao Island, Bohol Province
Panglao Island, Bohol Province
 

Been to Shaka Bohol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.