We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
128
108
43
25
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
108
43
25
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panoramic view steep hill breakfast room excellent hotel internet connection top floor recommend this hotel swimming pool coast alessandro car dip siracusa sea
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel in Aci Castello near Catania. The hotel is very modern and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Excellent amenities. Excellent restaurants and very helpful and courteous staff. View from the front side rooms can be stunning. Only real drawback is that it s bit remote with a long down/up hill walk to the seahore in Aci Ttrzza.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

My wife and I came to Catania to attend the wedding of our niece. The President Park Hotel can only be described as an Oasis in the hills of Catania.

The photos and amenities on their website are as described. The hotel building is about 25 years old, but a few years ago it was closed for two years and renovated top to bottom, inside and out. It is clean, modern, bright but quiet with a million dollar view of the Mediterranean.

The staff is attentive, polite and their english was excellent. We were a happy bunch of Italian Canadians who were made to feel at home.

A couple of specific comments and suggestions:
- The rooms are exceptionally clean and quiet. They are much larger than a tradition European hotel room. More what you would expect from North America.
The air conditioning works and is QUIET!
- The hotel only has one restaurant which bends to European tradition and closes after lunch, reopening for dinner at 8. If you eat early, you will be going offsite.
- The breakfast on the rooftop terrace is excellent and sets you up for a day of touring.
- The hotel is geared to the business group (lots of conference rooms) and the bus tours coming or going somewhere. Not my first choice for a family vacation spot, as there is little close by for the kids, but the hotel meets it's market niche perfectly.
- The pool is clean and deep, but bring flip-flops, the astro-turf border can be hot to the touch.
- The Wi-Fi which is free, can be spotty in your room, especially if there are lots of people logging in, but is a bonus.
- Spend the extra Euros and get waterfront views and bring your walking shoes. The walk down to the village of Acitreza is well worth it to experience local Sicilian culture and food.

Room Tip: Third floor facing the ocean and you won't want to leave your veranda - ever.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

The pros of that venue is it's rooms refurbishment, they are brand new, and clean. Our deluxe room got a balcony with sea view room on the "2nd" floor, which is factually the hotel 1st floor.
However, the establishment service level reflects a 2 stars.

We couldn't get our room before 18h despite check in time being 14h, because there was "a large group leaving" sic the receptionist.
Basically they left us dry at the reception while departing guests could use the rooms till 17h.
Albeit the hotel was empty after that group leaving, they let us hang and the young fellow at the reception  (Alessandro) told us "its only another 30mns to wait" without any effort to offer a drink while we had to wait for others to leave their rooms after 5 pm.. unseen ever before!
So I kindly asked him that the hotel cover our drinks at the bar, which he accepted, but he looked a bit surprised. Clear lack of training and service attitude.
Next surprise was that our request (sent 2 months before) for a quiet room away from the lift turned to be a room litteraly across the lift. So we waited another 15mns to get our new room, in this now totally empty venue, while they were figuring were to set us. Very strange.

We booked a deluxe room, which is supposed to have a jaccuzzi or hydromassaging shower, it had none of these. Again very disappointing.
Their promise for a double bed turned as well to be 2 single beds side by side...
Any request at the receptionwill be met byba strange look, lack we were asking for incredible things.

To carry on with the lack of service, I asked to see the front desk manager, he was not on site and on the phone said he 'll be there on the morning. In the morning at 10 he did not show up so Alessandro calls now another manager, Ms Vera Formica, over the phone who tells him she might come at 11h and stay till 14 so we "have to wait for her to show up, because it is holidays...". So managers are not present or so not show up after agreeing to meet with customers, they are busy at home..
Last but not least, service in the breakfast room (located on the last floor with a gorgeous  panoramic view) is as low as in the rest of the hotel, room was totally empty but we were asked to change table because "a group will come tomorrow and the table is set for them". Every morning we got the same request, because it annoyed the service ladies to walk soooo far (10m). No group showed up and every morning for 3 days we sat at the same spot without seeing more than 5 people in the breakfast room, between the 26 to the 29 of December.

Breakfast is a cheap and scarce buffet of low quality food you can find at any supermarket. Croissant are industrial so is most of what they serve. Juices were industrial, in the country of oranges it is a shame, they don't take order at the table and you have to walk to the bar to ask them for a coffee (while the room is empty, so they aren't busy with other guests..). Plastic cups instead of glasses, no table setting just a paper napkin, no forks and knife neither. All is "do it yourself" except the coffee which will be brought to you table after you have ordered it.

This place is mostly tuned for congresses and wedding and they are not experienced with holiday makers obviously.

The hotel has 4 stars for its facilities but even the bathroom amenities are of low quality and the glasses in the bathroom is a plastic cup.. Disappointing.

However the hotel has a gorgeous view on the coast, and is very quiet.
The rooms has recently renovated, and rather quiet. Internet is provided free of charges and works well.

Plenty car parks on its grounds. If you want to stay out of town it is a ok place, but do not expect any service at all. More of a Bed and breakfast than a 4 stars hotel. I won't come back to this property, and for the same price I will rather go to an agriturismo or to a real 4 stars hotel that deliver what they promise and have an adequate service above all.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FFM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresidentParkHotel, Direttore at President Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente,
La ringraziamo per essere stato nostro gradito ospite.
Ci dispiace aver letto i suoi complaints riguardanti il suo soggiorno, per il quale abbiamo fatto da parte nostra tutto il possibile per renderlo piacevole, dal cambio della camera, malgrado la prima fosse una camera tranquilla, dal successivo cocktail offerto al bar e per finire il nostro cadeaux in camera.
Nella speranza di averla presto come nostro gradito ospite.
Cordialmente

Dear Customer,
We thank you for being our welcome guest.
We are sorry to have read all his complaints about his stay, for which we have done everything possible to make it pleasant: from the change of room, despite the first was a quiet room; the cocktail offered at the bar and lastly our cadeaux in the room.
Hoping to have you soon as our welcome guest.
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

very deighted with our stay at the President Park Hotel. Good value for money, with spacious rooms great atmpsphere. We were on half board basis and I must say that food was very satisfactory. The bonus to this was the staff. Efficient, always with a smile and always there if you need them. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

Room Tip: great views
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank agiusangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The President Park Hotel is in Aci Castello, a few miles east of Catania, overlooking the small town itself. It stands at the top of a steep hill that provides the shortest route down to the coast but which taxes the legs and lungs on the return journey. The hotel is modern and extremely well appointed. Many of the rooms have balconies overlooking the pool and the sea, and some bathrooms are equipped with a whirlpool bath. The hotel was quite full with short-stay tourists when we were there, resulting in somewhat chaotic breakfast times. Breakfast fare was barely average. Eggs were pre-boiled then dropped into hot water prior to serving. Most of the staff were very helpful but one manager - Alessandro by name - proved to be less so. On four occasions I asked him to check and confirm our onward transport to Syracuse. Four times he failed to do so, just shrugging his shoulders. It arrived an hour earlier than expected when we weren't ready. The food served at evening dinner was disappointing. Our group of 46 was served in an underground, soulless meeting room, joined on one evening by another group. There was no choice provided, even for those who had indicated that they did not eat shellfish, beef or pork. On the penultimate night of our stay 24 of the group either went elsewhere or walked out in protest at the unappetising food on offer.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Barbaraian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews