We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds, spa and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilcabamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Such responsive, lovely staff from the welcome desk to the owners, Peter and Gail. My emails and calls were answered right away and so graciously, even though I had a bit of a complicated spa request and a bunch of questions. We traveled with our two children, aged 8 & 10 years, and they immediately disappeared to explore the extensive grounds as soon as we arrived. The pool was also a hit with the kids. The room was a bit close when we arrived, but soon aired out when I opened the windows. The food at the restaurant was good, too. I especially liked the pesto pizza, though if you don't like a ton of cheese on your margarita pizza, you might want to note that when you order. Definitely check out the spa, even if it's just a 30 min massage. I was a little disappointed that the jacuzzi wasn't working. You might want to ring in advance if this is important to you. Lovely stay, and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Best views are in rooms that are higher up on the mountain, thus may be an uphill trek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017

From the warm welcome I felt at home straight away and I enjoyed fabulous days, meeting interresting people from all over the world, being looked after with such a genuine openmindedness. I although can recommend the spa treatments. In the evenings, under widely coloured skies, the night falling in I took my daily refreshening swimm in the pool.......Thanks to everybody involved for these lovely days!

Room Tip: a great variety of rooms available, so everybody can have his own favourite, great choice and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anmichler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We had such a peaceful, rejuvenating 7 day stay at Madre Tierra! The meals were so good and healthy that we hardly wanted to eat anywhere else. Our room was spacious, clean and very well decorated with stunning views. The entire staff was friendly and helpful and the grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. We got to enjoy some spa time too....amazing massages!! We were looking for a relaxing South American vacation where we could visit local towns, hike, feel safe and be a part of the culture and Vilcabamba/Madre Tierra was exactly that! It way exceeded our expectations. Thank you Peter, Gail, Allison and Staff for helping make our first trip to South America unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dreamlightphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

This was my second time at Madre Tierra. 4 days total. I'm had a massage every day. The massage therapists are wonderful. The meals are delicious. The rooms I've had - 16 & 18 where both great. I feel very at home here. The staff will do everything they can to make your stay the best

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Racer513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

My wife and I have been travelling around South America and mainly in Peru and Equador. We had been in Cuenca for 4 weeks and felt we needed a 'nature' change. A friend recommended Vilcabamba and Madre Tierra. The staff were fantastic, the hotel is unique, colourful clean and in a beautiful spot overlooking the mountains. We shouted ourselves the 3 hour total spa package and this was simply amazing, totally worth it, thank you Gloria, we will miss you!! the kitchen staff, housekeeping and Edwardo at the front desk attained our every need. Thanks everyone. All in all a great very relaxing stay. We will come back when we can.
Possibly my only constructive suggestion is maybe its time to invest in a new batch of towels. They were spotlessly clean but starting to show age.

Room Tip: we chose room 5, great hammock and views but I think they all have that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilcabamba
28 km away
Grand Victoria Boutique Hotel
27.6 km away
Zamorano Real Hotel
Zamorano Real Hotel
#4 of 14 in Loja
52 reviews
27.9 km away
Romar Royal Hotel
Romar Royal Hotel
#2 of 14 in Loja
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Hotel Podocarpus
Hotel Podocarpus
#5 of 14 in Loja
49 reviews
28.3 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel Loja
27.5 km away
No photo provided
Hostal Pucara
#10 of 14 in Loja
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madre Tierra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madre Tierra Resort & Spa

Address: San Pedro de Vilcabamba | PO Box 1145, Vilcabamba 288, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Loja Province > Vilcabamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilcabamba
Price Range: €44 - €78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madre Tierra Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa is your gateway to Hiking, Bird Watching, Restaurants and the beauty of the Loja Valley. Enjoy the absolute Peace & Tranquility, stunning views, our incredible Guest Services, Famous Full-Service Spa, Restaurant (Breakfast Included), Library, Pool, Gardens, our Travel Assistance and The Madre Tierra Experience. There are an incredible array of Activities to undertake in our beautiful Loja Valley and the Town of Vilcabamba. Madre Tierra is a short walk into Vilcabamba or a $1.25 Taxi ride. Buses pass along the main road every 15 minutes and will stop with the wave of a hand. The Main Bus Terminal is located just off the Town Square. This is an easy place to get around. Any questions - Please inquire at our Reception for whatever you might need to make your time with us the highlight of your travels. We are here to do what we can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Madre Tierra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madre Tierra Hotel
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa Vilcabamba, Ecuador - Loja Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing