We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in unexpected places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso del Oso
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cerocahui
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service in unexpected places”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I arrived at Paraiso del Oso as part of a larger group participating in the 2012 Copper Canyon Ultra Marathon. Diego was extremely helpful in arranging transportation and making our pre-race stay at Paraiso del Oso a wonderful experience. The surroundings are spectacular (we climbed up to the stony "oso" on top of the cliffs and visited a nearby cave), the food was good and plenty, both for carnivores and vegetarians. Diego also seems like a godfather to all the local kids. He helps them stay in school and they just love him. You feel at home with Diego, his wife, son Hugo and the entire team.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    29
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
34
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

From the beginning we had hands-on service planning the trip, travel advice, and upon arrival. It is a lovely setting, not far from the rim of the Canyon. The adobe-like rooms are 'rustic comfortable' with all the amenities and heated, as needed, with easy-lite wood stoves. A large lodge with good food; we were indeed treated like family. We went on a custom designed five-day horseback trip into the Copper Canyon with Hugo guiding, and Diego as support. Couldn't have been more secure and fun--these guys know the country, the people, and how to do it right. Overall, except for hearing of some food shortages among the Tarahumara due to the drought, it was a wonderful and fascinating adventure.
Regarding the drug situation: From the moment of landing in Los Mochis, on the train, and into the Canyon, we experienced nothing but kind and caring people. Along with Diego and Hugo's guidance, it would seem one would have to be very foolish and looking for trouble to actually find it. We felt very safe.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A beautiful hotel with lovely rooms and super-friendly staff and family. Stunning scenery all around. Good food, internet, water. Very relaxing atmosphere. Hugo was interesting and helpful and drove us back to the train station. All in all great service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi-kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We arrived at Bahuichivo station with no particular plan, but met Diego whose offer of accommodation worked for us. We were not disappointed. The setting and the people are exactly as the website says. The hospitality was genuine, second to none. We were treated like family and friends. Meals are provided there with utmost care accommodating personal dietary needs. One highlight was accompanying Diego who was taking supplies to the Tarahumara girls school. It was obvious he and family are there often giving help in tangible ways. It was a delight to interact with the young quiet girls. In our short time there we were very impressed with the relationship of Diego’s family in supporting the Tarahumara of the area to meet needs they themselves are unable, whether in computers for the school, transportation for school children, emergency accommodation, health needs, friendship and more. If you want to have personal contact with the folks of the area and contribute to the community--stay at the Oso!!
We had not planned to stay more than one day, but we stayed two thanks to Diego and family who gave personal attention to our interests. We were able to take in a Tarahumara long distance marathon, several exotic hikes in the area and a thrilling adventure to Urique. Our stay in these spectacular surroundings was the highlight in our journey. We certainly did not expect to return within a week but ill health changed our plans. We knew what to expect at Hotel Paraiso del Oso-- a touch of home. We would highly recommend you not miss this genuine gem in the Copper Canyon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Picked up from the station by Hugo, the owners son. Spoke fluent English and delivered us to the hotel for lunch (large, very tasty and unexpected) and later took us on a drive to the nearest village and up to view the canyon. Village little disappointing but school closed for the summer. Long drive to top of canyon but well worth the journey and we did ask to get out and walk along the way which helped. Shame the return route was the same. Hotel a family affair Diego (Doug), his wife (a local) and Hugo who all had an obvious love and knowledge of the surrounding area. Evening was Margaritas in the bar chatting to Diego and playing darts, followed by supper (fish in a cheesy sauce) in their large souvenier-filled log. The electricity was very erratic so we headed to bed early. In the morning we rose early for a walk (go up the hill rather than down), followed by a hearty breakfast and a ride along the river. Beautiful hummingbirds on the feeders in the garden. Spent ages watching them from a couple of feet away. Gorgeous area. Hotel pretty basic but Diego and family were trying very hard and obviously struggling with downturn of tourists (particularly Americans) worried about the security issue (felt completely safe during our whole trip to Mexico, particularly in this area). Could have done with longer to get the most of it. Sure the hiking is wonderful.

Room Tip: Bring a torch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerocahui
3.2 km away
Hotel Mision
Hotel Mision
#1 of 2 in Cerocahui
147 reviews
61.7 km away
Hotel Posada Del Cobre
29.0 km away
Posada Barrancas Mirador
Posada Barrancas Mirador
#2 of 20 in Copper Canyon
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.8 km away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#2 of 2 in Batopilas
1 reviews
61.7 km away
Hotel Ecologico Temazcal
0.0 km away
Hotel Cabanas Claro de Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso del Oso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso del Oso

Property: Hotel Paraiso del Oso
Address: KM 12 Camino Bahuichivo a Cerocahui, Cerocahui 31149, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Cerocahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cerocahui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paraiso del Oso 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a beautiful and tranquil Huetoibo valle, 10 mnutes from Cerocahui, the Paraiso del Oso welcomes Copper Canyon visitors with great meals, a welcome Margarita and personalized service.There are neither telephones nor television to disturb your enjoyment of this magical place, instead you awaken to songs of wild birds and the view of the Yogi Bear look-alike rock formation overlooking the Hotel.Horse rides and nature hikes are available to Tarahumara cave archaeological sites, the Sangre de Cristo gold mine, and a nearby waterfall. Sightseeing vans offer tours to the Cerro Gallegos Canyon overlook and to the historic pueblo of Urique at the very bottom of the Canyon. All meals, free wireless Internet, and transfers from the Bahuichivo train station are included in your stay. The Paraiso del Oso has an extensive public service program that helps Tarahumara students and education in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Paraiso del Oso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Del Oso Cerocahui
Paraiso Del Oso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing