We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Romantic Ski Break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Tomas

Main living room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living room.
Fireplace Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Main living room.
Fireplace
Dining area
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom
Master Bedroom and balcony.
Second bedroom.
Casa San Tomas.
Basement / garage - games room.
Outdoor seating for 8 people
Nordic Jacuzzi hot tub
Wood fired jacuzzi hot hub
Hot tub with lighting.
Local pool 5 minute walk away.
Lake at sunset
Salobrena beach
La Herradura beach
La Herradura
Ski resort in winter.
Sierra Nevada ski.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Guejar Sierra, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Celia H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Ski Break”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Having stayed at this property in the summer we decided to return for a short ski break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The village is an easy drive from Malaga with great directions provided by the owners. When we arrived we were delighted to see that the owners had arranged champagne and chocs on arrival which was quite a surprise! The house, as before was immaculate and beautifully furnished and the fire was lovely to return to in the evening. The owners have obviously spent a lot of time preparing the "welcome pack" as it was packed with information about everything to do in the area, local maps, ski maps/rental etc. The master bedroom has stunning views to the snow capped mountains. While we were there we had a fabulous local massage in the village and loved exploring the local restaurants of which there are many. The ski resort of Sierra Nevada is an easy drive away (do be aware that snow chains are required by the local police to drive up the mountain in bad weather - these are easily bought/hired locally.) Ski pass prices were comparable with other resorts and queues for the lifts were short. Food and drink was cheaper than we were used to paying - 9 Euros for a large pizza in the main plaza. There is a great range of runs to suit all levels and a great apres ski atmosphere in the resort. As in the village - all the locals were friendly and although neither of us speak Spanish, it wasn't a problem. The owners have told us that they are having a hot tub installed so we will definitely be back in the future. All in all a fabulous short break!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We were delighted to welcome you back for your 20th Wedding Anniversary and are glad you enjoyed the Champagne and chocolates. We are always happy to help out with any requests for special occasion extras where we can! Your comments about the ski resort are spot on. Prices are much cheaper than in the resorts in the Alps and the queues for the lifts are generally much shorter. From the beginning of March we will indeed have a hot tub at the house and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Matt and Mel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaScotl...
Scotland
2 reviews
“Great break”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We spent Christmas in this lovely house and we had a really nice time. The village was what we expected....a typical Spanish village with very friendly welcoming people. The house is well furnished and had everything we needed. We spent Christmas day in front of the log fire! The bus is hourly into Granada too which is aprox half an hour away. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely house in lovely village.
Liked least: Trying to light the log fire......had to practice :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Christmas is a very special time of year in the village and there is such a wonderful festive atmosphere. There cannot be a better way to spend Christmas Day than in front of a roaring log fire. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mel and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg l
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful House, Perfect Location. Fantastic Skiing”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Just completed our first stay at Casa San Tomas for a long weekend of Skiing.

From start to finish nothing was too much trouble. The house is superbly furnished and very comfortable. Directions and information about the surrounding areas comprehensive and excellent.
The village is wonderfully traditional, very friendly and has great places to eat and drink.
The Ski resort well thought out and really just a short drive away. Fantastic amounts of snow and very good value.

In summary very highly recommended, cant wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house in a great location
Liked least: Nothing! all was great from start to finish
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We are delighted that you had such a great weekend. Guejar is indeed a typical whitewashed Andalucian village in every way. The lack of tourism is part of the charm. We spend a lot of time researching bars, restaurants and information on the local area and glad you found the guest folder useful. The close proximity to the ski resort makes the village a perfect (and much less expensive) place to stay. We hope to welcome you and your friends back again in the future. Thanks Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jan 2014
Many thanks for your kind words about our home. The presentation and high standards within the house are very important to us and we are glad you found everything to be immaculate. Yes the close proximity to the ski resort makes Guejar a much more affordable and friendly place to stay. Great bars and restaurants within walking distance of the house, together with much more reasonably priced ski hire are the main reasons why we chose to own a home there. We would of course love to welcome you all back again in the future. Thanks Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sonja S
Algoz, Portugal
1 review
“A fantastic family getaway in first class accommodation!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Casa San Tomas over New Year and had the most fantastic time. The accommodation was just perfect for us as a family with two young children. We had absolutely everything we required during our stay and will definitely be returning. The village of Guejar Sierra was beautiful and the new year celebrations were great - champagne, grapes and party bags for the kids. A short drive up the mountains takes you to the ski resort of Sierra Nevada which I can only describe as stunning. My children had never seen snow before (as we live in the Algarve) and they absolutely loved it. The tapas in the local village were delicious and everybody was so friendly and welcoming. We even manged to meet the Marquis de la Malafolla whose bar is a must to see! A fantastic time was had by all and thank you Mel for letting us stay in your beautiful house - we felt so at home! Kids want to come back to the snow again soon but only if we stay at your house again!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - couldn't fault it.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you chose to spend the New Year in Guejar and had such a wonderful time. Yes we agree the Tapas is rather good and plentiful! We have designed the house with families in mind and of course would love to welcome you and your family back again in the future. With the ski resort so close you can hopefully enjoy some skiing next time. Thanks again Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing