We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a driver to get there”

Michael Cusack Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Carran
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Born in Carron in 1847, Michael Cusack founded the largest amateur sporting organisation in the world, the Gaelic Athletic Association. The Centre in Carron is dedicated to the memory of the man who is widely regarded as the saviour of Irish sports. The lovingly restored traditional thatched cottage reflects the character of 19th century Ireland. The dwelling appears today in its original state and is typical of famine cottages of the era. Even the courtyard and surrounding fields remain largely untouched. The contemporary display in our award winning visitor centre offers a unique perspective on Irish history, heritage and culture. Some interesting free attractions also in the area include the 6km Cusack Way walk (opened Oct 2013)from the Michael Cusack Centre to Cahercommaun Cliff Fort and Poulnabrone Dolmen. The centre caters for school tours, individuals and groups. Open April to 30th September, 7 days a week from 10 - 5pm,
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

The beautiful landscape of Carron in the Burren is home to Michael Cusack, founder of the GAA so it's a must see for any GAA fans. Visitors can see culture and history in restored famine era thatched cottage. There are some activities and walking trails to Cahercommaugh Stone Fort and Cliff Fort. It's about 15-20 minutes from Ballyvaughn or Ennis.

Thank DoloresJacoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinettecarron, Director of Sales at Michael Cusack Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Delighted you had a pleasant experience at the centre. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2016

Came across by accident by driving through The Burren. Never been an avid GAA fan, but the info we've been given by our guides was very interesting. Loved Irish thatched cottage with red door. Very interactive and great fun.

Thank Renata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I paid a visit here with my family in August 2016 and the place is very interesting. The Michael Cusack story is an extract from Irish social and economic history at the end of the 19th century and start of the 20th. Good displays and commentary. We were there with two small children (who weren't terribly interested!) and had a wonderful few hours. Recommened

Thank CIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The centre is well worth a visit if only to meet two lovely ladies Antoinette and Agnes who were lovely to my daughter who was feeling under the weather I personally wouldn't be a stalwart fan of gaa but found it extremely interesting

1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

A rainy day but such a warm welcome by the voluntary officers at the centre, even we were offered a coffee for free. The centre explains the very important role of Michael Cusack in education and sport for his Irish people that suffered a lot during the 19th century.
For us hurling was a new sport. The exposition is wonderful and as interested people we learned a lot. A must to visit.

Thank joostadolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael Cusack Centre also viewed

 

Been to Michael Cusack Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing