We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting insight into modern history”

Michael Cusack Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Carran
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Born in Carron in 1847, Michael Cusack founded the largest amateur sporting organisation in the world, the Gaelic Athletic Association. The Centre in Carron is dedicated to the memory of the man who is widely regarded as the saviour of Irish sports. The lovingly restored traditional thatched cottage reflects the character of 19th century Ireland. The dwelling appears today in its original state and is typical of famine cottages of the era. Even the courtyard and surrounding fields remain largely untouched. The contemporary display in our award winning visitor centre offers a unique perspective on Irish history, heritage and culture. Some interesting free attractions also in the area include the 6km Cusack Way walk (opened Oct 2013)from the Michael Cusack Centre to Cahercommaun Cliff Fort and Poulnabrone Dolmen. The centre caters for school tours, individuals and groups. Open April to 30th September, 7 days a week from 10 - 5pm,
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very interesting insight into modern history”
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I paid a visit here with my family in August 2016 and the place is very interesting. The Michael Cusack story is an extract from Irish social and economic history at the end of the 19th century and start of the 20th. Good displays and commentary. We were there with two small children (who weren't terribly interested!) and had a wonderful few hours. Recommened

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank CIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Michael cusack centre review”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The centre is well worth a visit if only to meet two lovely ladies Antoinette and Agnes who were lovely to my daughter who was feeling under the weather I personally wouldn't be a stalwart fan of gaa but found it extremely interesting

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dullstroom, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“History and Actual Importance”
Reviewed 30 July 2016

A rainy day but such a warm welcome by the voluntary officers at the centre, even we were offered a coffee for free. The centre explains the very important role of Michael Cusack in education and sport for his Irish people that suffered a lot during the 19th century.
For us hurling was a new sport. The exposition is wonderful and as interested people we learned a lot. A must to visit.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank joostadolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Brookville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully informative”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

If you have seen or heard about GAA Hurling he was the one who brought the game into being.
The counties are displayed and the grounds are magnificent. The self guided tour is informative and brings you in time with history. The guides are wonderful. I'm sure tour bus go but not when I was there.
Peaceful and tranquil spot. Enjoy the history and then watch a match.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,228 reviews
574 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 902 helpful votes
“Charmin”
Reviewed 3 July 2016

A lovely little visit and a very quaint center. I loved the thatched roof, stone building and red door--it was pure Ireland. It was also graced with simple but lovely gardens. I found it to be a very worthwhile visit while traveling throughout County Clare.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank DoloresJacoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael Cusack Centre also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 

Been to Michael Cusack Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing