We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want t have the best guide in the Burren, Tony Kirby is your man!”

Heart of Burren Walks
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Kilfenora
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
ennistymon
1 review
“If you want t have the best guide in the Burren, Tony Kirby is your man!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Took a walk in Clare recently with Tony Kirby. The walk took us to some of the hidden gems of the Burren. Tony has a unique insight into the historic, cultural, flora, fauna and other aspects of this amazing area. The walk progressed at a good pace and we managed to pack in plenty of sights over the few hours. Tony created a great atmosphere amougst the group on the day and thus there was plenty of discussion, chat and poetry. All in all, a great day out..

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kevin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    34
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
1 review
“Wind, Water, Stone - Fire In The Heart Of The Burren”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We went to the West of Ireland in search of the magical, St. Coleman's Well, which is nested beneath Eagle's Rock, in the heart of the Burren. One needs a guide to find such a place as this, and Tony proved to be that and more. With the wind and rain lashing at us along the way, Tony provided shelter with his deep understanding of this unique landscape's lengendary, historical, cultural and ecological roots. A walk with Tony through the Burren revealed myth and legend, flaura and fauna, ancient architecture and the latest archeological theories that continue to grapple with this mysterious landmark. Tony was also a great listener, very thoughtful and caring with regard to the interests we had along the way. Indeed, because he knew we were in search of St. Coleman's, Tony devised a journey that emulated, in a small way, the pilgrimage path those early pre-christians and christians would have taken to reach the Holy Well. I truly cannot say enough good things about this great guide. After our soujourn with him, we purchased his book back in town - The Burren and The Aran Islands - A Walking Guide. It was well worth the price, and Tony Kirby is worth his weight in gold.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SleepyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Clare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Sunny Day out in February ...”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Nice to hear from the other members of the walk on that lovely day in February. Great way and possibly the only way to see the true Burren safely. As a result , I have already spent much too much time looking in the Annals of the Four Masters for references of St. Colman & “The Road of the Dishes” ! Great day. Lovely Group. Thanks Tony.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Lahinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
1 review
“Wonderful insight to a magical corner of clare”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Had a wonderful day of walking in the Burren with a wonderful guide Tony Kirbyof Heart of the Burren Tours. No doubt the wonderful weather helped, but the scenery was magical and made very special by Tony's wonderful insight into the archaelogy, folklore, farming practices and environmental trends in the area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bordercollie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
“Burren Camino a truly wonderful experience”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Joined Tony Kirby for the Burren Camino walk on Sunday. The weather, group and particularly Tony was excellent. The walk was both enjoyable and informative and the scenery of the Burren added to a truly outstanding day. It was my first trip with Tony and hopefully it will not be my last. Looking forward to more walks in 2012. Jim McMahon, Ennis

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimMc_Ennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heart of Burren Walks also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
 
County Clare, Province of Munster
 

Been to Heart of Burren Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing