We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
15
11
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
11
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just had dinner last night at the Hillcrest View Restaurant. Modern dining room that is tastefully decorated, with warm friendly staff. Great choices of food and wine from the area makes it especially appealing. Thank goodness for the prompt service because I kept changing my mind on what to order! Settled on the lobster-haddock bake which was "lick your plate delicious!", with the garlic mashed potatoes and cole-slaw (although the fries that I stole of my partner's plate were top-notched too). Restaurant was full of people from adults to seniors so obviously there is something for everyone. Well done Hillcrest!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Wonderfully fresh fish and other locally-sourced foods prepared with a light, creative touch. Great homemade desserts, like the brownie with local raspberries and whipped cream--yum!! The freshest haddock we've eaten in Nova Scotia, and the most generous servings of local wines. The A fantastic place to stop for lunch or dinner. Its beige-siding exterior and the fact that there aren't many places to eat in this area made its excellence all the more a delicious surprise. Great service, great prices, great honest food. A gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Loren154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Most enthusiastic landlord we have encountered so far and very solicitous and helpful. We stayed in the cottage. Spotlessly clean room. Modern decor. Good beds. Well equipped kitchen. At the restaurant, the food was good, especially the caesar salad and seafood chowder. This establishment is really a motel and therefore located on the highway. As a place to stay, I would rate it average except that the effort put into making it better raised it above that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytraveler154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have been to the Hillcrest restaurant with a large family gathering twice, and everyone loved it both times. The portions are very generous and the staff couldn't be friendlier. The lobster-haddock bake, in particular, is a beautiful thing. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stopped at the restaurant by chance and were greeted by friendly, helpful staff. We had the seafood chowder, which was excellent. The large bowl was overflowing with lobster, fish and shrimp.
Excellent service, food and value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews