We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
3
7
10
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
7
10
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2015

I was at Hotel Pontos in the summer of 2015. The Hotel has a lot of potential, the location is really nice, at the beach and not far from the center of the town Sarti.

The impression you get from the pictures on the internet is excellent, and friends of mine had already been there and said it is a good hotel intended for singles who want to do sports during the day an party at night. They had been there a couple of times before and called it 'Party Sarti'. The big attraction was the big boat trip which lasted almost a full day, going across the water to the monks' mountain.

That was exactly what we were looking for, so we booked via 'Frosch' for one week.

A transfer from the airport to the hotel was arranged, which was good, but the driver really didn't have our safety in mind, with a couple of very close calls while overtaking other cars. The same on the way back even though I had written that point in the feedback form.

Upon arrival, we were informed that you aren't allowed to throw toilet paper into the toilet, only in the bin (it was a terrible smell). And we were told not to drink the water from the tap. Soon, I saw why. The water was dark yellow/brown. I really had to convince myself every time I needed a shower. And it wasn't very easy brushing your teeth and doing everything else with bottled water. Which of course, we didn't get complimentary, but had to buy at the reception.

The room and furniture was very old but clean. The bathroom was extremely small. The shower head was attached to the wall at chest height, so you had to hold it in your hand above your head to wash your hair.

One good thing: the windows have mosquito nets.

What the gentleman said below is true: the restaurant, bar and reception are only staffed at certain times. So you had to think ahead and sometimes you just had bad luck and couldn't get what you wanted.

The sports activities were excellent. There were different guided activities every day, mountain bike tours, walking tours, a kayak tour and some yoga and aquajogging. You could play beach volleyball anytime you liked and you could lend a bike anytime you liked. No extra fees for bikes, volleyball or for the beach chairs.

A big disappointment: the main attraction, the boat trip, was cancelled due to mechanical problems. The strange thing is that we saw the boat on the water, with tourists, the same day, and the next, and the next. Seems to me that they forgot to book the boat!!! There was no compensation except a 5-hour walking tour (which of course comes nowhere near a relaxed boat tour).

The breakfast and dinner buffet at the hotel was pretty hopeless, most dishes were not replenished, so if you were a little late, some dishes were empty! There was so little that I as a girl only got one plate because I otherwise felt guilty towards the guys who would have less food. The food was not really Greek. The dessert was really small and there was only one dessert, no choice. Very disappointing for a sweet-tooth.

The prices for drinks at the bar were extremely high in comparison with the bars in the town. The longdrink I like costs more at Pontos than it does in Germany. To pay at the bar, you had to get a card from the reception in advance... very strange. Of course, if you forget or if your card runs out in the evening, the party is over.

My friends said, that in the previous years, Pontos was sold out with 'Frosch' tourists, mostly singles who want to do sports and party. This time, the hotel was half full of families, which meant that we kept them awake at night and they woke us too early in the morning (crying and shouting children). It also had a bad effect on the parties at night, which used to be jam-packed and now the bar was always at least half empty.

Also, our room was next to a utility area with the washing machines, which always started around 8 AM, which is very cruel if you've been partying until 3 or 4 AM.

And yes, it's true, because the hotel is centered around German tourists, everything is explained and written in German, hardly anything is in English.

The German 'Frosch' guides were very nice and thought up silly games for the evenings in the bar. However, the overall service at Pontos was below average.

I was so happy to get home and have a real shower!

So, to sum it up, I can't recommend Pontos at all.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muzjsbnhzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

we went to Pontos as a last minute decision, and it was the last place in the area with a pool and a room available. the location is 10-15min walk from Sarti center, there are a couple other hotels next to Pontos but its a quiet area definitely. the room was spacy, clean and we had a big balcony with a green view. all of the info/notes in the hotel are in German, SOME of them also in English. the lunch menu for example did not exist in English, but that was ok for us as we understood enough. all staff also speak fluent German and at least ok English. the dinner buffet was 12 euros but european style foods mostly so we didn't try. the room had a rulebook with 2 pages of items, listing the guests right and points such as "do not throw bedsheets or towels on the floor".

good: the green areas of the hotel are wonderful and make it fresh and relaxing. the pool is clean & nice and no one else was using it so we enjoyed the pool area a lot. the european style breakfast didnt look impressive but i found it fresh and tasty, especially the omelet with tomatoes and spices (?). we booked a rental car through the hotel and that was arranged perfectly. they also accept credit cards (not for the food/drinks but to pay the stay), which is not so common in greece. also, there is a nice beach right across the street, and often the wifi was still working while we laid on the sun beds.

bad: overall our stay was shadowed by the fact that the staff seemed oddly distant and neutral, ie. not rude but not very friendly either, just kind of polite. the bartender was smiling though, props to him. also in connection with this, we always had to search for staff, like when we wanted a coffee by the pool or when we went for the lunch (should be open 12:30-14:30 but no one was around at 12:35) or wanted to ask about car, internet password... we always found someone, but it was odd to search for staff every time. i realize that its a small family run hotel, but nevertheless. while the bathroom was perfectly acceptable, we had just stayed the previous nights in a 40e/night simple room downtown Sarti and the bathroom there was much nicer and more modern, so as Pontos was double the price i would've expected something more, and maybe at least a small shampoo/soap/shower gel. in relation to what i earlier said, everything is in German, even notifications on the reception door (to inform you that no one is around until X pm), and as i wasn't aware that is "Germans only" hotel, I found it odd and semi-rude. finally, something that was annoying for an internet user is that getting the wifi password was hard (most of the staff don't know it), and it involves a log in page and expired after some minutes of inactivity. so every time you need internet again, you must login. and late on the last night the password changed so we couldn't log in again and it was too late to find anyone to ask. we got a new one the next morning. but changing wifi password on the go or without notifying ruined the night as i was unable to sleep (and needed something to do). and finally, the double room had 2 single beds next to each other, not ideal for a romantic holiday, but surely a minor detail. perhaps this is common in greek hotels, i don't know.

Ok that was long but hopefully useful for someone - in short we had an ok stay but a few minor things would have made it much better. the hotel is perfect for German families looking for a pool and beach, quiet surrounding and familiar foods.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jennieblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A very good hotel in a great position in front of the main beach of Sarti village in Halkidiki
With great food and restaurant as well as breakfast
The rooms are comfortable with good views and should be done by the center in the large building which have beautiful views to the pisiana and Sea
Cleanliness is very good, quiet and relaxing environment
The sleep quality is very good and the pool bar amazing
the sea at 50 meters and as the bar on the beach
Access to the hotel is very easy and if you have a car or motorbike near amazing beaches where you can discover
generally the recommended relaxed and beautiful vacation in Sarti

Room Tip: the rooms of the second floor have better views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christos-ele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

nice hotel with well arange yard nice rooms and excellent meals.maybe the one of the best places in sarti wich have nice beach but little windy but in a range of 30 km excellent beaches like orange beach,porto coufo, caridi, calamitsi

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Igor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Sarti is a small slightly rundown but perfectly decent beachside town spared from the large all-inclusive hotels more popular in other parts of Halkidiki. Very popular with the eastern European sun-seeking crowd (Hungarian, Serbian, Romanian,) it has a 2km-long stretch of clean sandy beach that can get mildly choppy in windy weather, but only enough to bother very young children - others will love the little waves.

The Hotel Pontos is a good choice for Sarti if you prefer a hotel rather than a self-catering apartment (of which there are many), but don't expect the Ritz. It's a clean and basic 3-star at the south-end of the town, with nothing it between it and the beach other than a small road and a beach bar. Breakfast and meals are nothing special - at all - catering mainly to a German clientele, so if you came for some good Greek food you would do far better to walk into town (a 10-minute stroll) and try one of the many seaside tavernas.

Rooms are medium-sized but provide the bare minimum - wooden beds with thin mattresses, dark, very small bathrooms that have not been upgraded for years, TV with only Greek channels (and reception so bad even they are mostly unwatchable). But the pool area is nice and mostly empty during the day (everyone is at the beach), and the setting is pleasant enough. Wifi is free at the pool and restaurant area, and if you're lucky it will reach the balcony of your room.

One thing - if you like peace and quiet in the evening, ask for a room away from the pool, as there are loud parties at the pool bar on Friday and Wednesday nights that go on until 2am.

If we were coming again, we would probably spend the extra 30 euro a night and stay at the new 12-room hotel 50m back towards Sarti, but if you're not fussy and just looking for a place to sleep while at the beach, the Pontos is fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you want to avoid the noise of the pool parties at night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bennelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews