We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch ,great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talasoterapia Zelai
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zumaia
Reviewed 21 February 2017

was taking our dog to Itzurun beach, and stopped to have a butchers at the menu, and was suitably Impressed, even more impressed when i found out that you can combine a morning spa with a very good lunch, although on the day we were too late to have both so just ate a very good lunch with good service and fantastic views of the ocean.Cant wait to go again in the next few weeks this time for the spa and lunch, however as we live nearby I have never had need to stay at this hotel so cannot give an opinion on this

Room Tip: request a sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

The location is great and it's good to have parking and wifi. However, it's expensive for what you get. The room smelt and the hotel wasn't clean - lots of dust along edges of carpets in room and corridors, wellness centre tatty and mouldy. Rust marks on the bottom of the bath.

Also the photos of the wellness centre are misleading - you have to wear a swim hat and if you haven't brought your own (and why would you, given the photographs show users without them?) then they charge you 2 Euros to get one. No staff in the wellness centre when we went so had to go up to reception in our robes - not relaxing!

Breakfast was quite decent and helpful that the front staff spoke English. The parking is a bit tight and steep to get in and out of, but parking in the town is difficult so it is useful to have parking.

Didn't eat any other meals at the hotel so can't comment on any food other than brekkie.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SophieFoxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The third hotel we stayed at on our visit to the basque country and the most expensive with the least reasons to justify the price.
The sea view room was adequate with very limited facilities - no tea and coffee etc and a mattress that had been bought in a bargain store. We ate there once - lunch - which was served by a waitress that gave the impression that she REALLY didn't enjoy her work and the food was of a standard you would expect in a cheap canteen. The hotel is tired, front desk staff helpful but no evidence of any management present to take a pride in their hotel. If you are looking to visit Zumaia, do so as it's a nice little coastal town with some good bars and an amazing coastline. I would, however, find a hotel that takes a little more pride in giving its residents a good time.

Room Tip: If you feel you want to stay ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charleyfarley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepciontalaso, Dpto Recepcion at Talasoterapia Zelai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Thanks for your words, we are working hard to improve our facilities, We have had some problems with kitchen that already finish. Sorry for the inconveniences and we hope see you in the future, and you can see our changes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Stayed here for two nights on route to the Algarve. first room we had was basic and views of a block of flats, changed our room to 104 stunning views across the coast line,
friendly staff, interesting automatic toilets! restaurant was ok food good but there was something lacking, menu in the bar was better, wonderful prawns. Car park was very tight under the hotel with a steep hill up from the town and down to the carpark.
probably return for a short stay again if only for the views.

Room Tip: Room 104 stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elysee673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

My sister and I spent a couple of days at Talasoterapia Zelai in Zumaia. We felt welcome and at ease from the moment we arrived and all throughout our stay.
We enjoyed the spa on two occasions. The meals were delicious, the staff most friendly and helpful and the location spectacular!!
We are looking forward to coming back and we want to send Sara and all her colleagues our love and gratitude.
Marisa and Maribe Azkoaga from Bilbao (Basque Country)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarisaAzkoaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zumaia
3.3 km away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
219 reviews
3.3 km away
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
#1 of 4 in Zumaia
448 reviews
10.9 km away
Hotel Villa Antilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#3 of 5 in Getaria
165 reviews
4.5 km away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#4 of 5 in Getaria
334 reviews
22.8 km away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talasoterapia Zelai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talasoterapia Zelai

Address: Playa de Itzurun s/n, 20750 Zumaia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Zumaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zumaia
Price Range: €79 - €152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Talasoterapia Zelai 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talasoterapia Zelai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing