We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”
Review of Le Mareyeur

Le Mareyeur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$72
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Recommended by the campsite, this place offered just what we needed after a long drive - open on a Monday, a table early evening, pleasant service and a good meal. Oh and a free Kir following mention of campsite! They’d had a busy Whit weekend so had run out of several menu items but still, lovely fish starters and mains. Popular with locals and families too.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Lizz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Having read some of the rave reviews of this place we had high expectations. Unfortunately we found it very average and overpriced for some of the dishes. We would not return.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank NessieNoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We have been going to this restaurant since it opened and have received charming service from the patrons/chef wife. Indeed many good meals as the starters are excellent combined with the dish of the day to try various different fishes. This occasion was different, particularly annoying as we had recommended it and went with friends. The first difference was the chef/patron was taking orders, it started badly with a request for the dish of the day to be served without the sauce due to an allergy - this was met with a blank no, no other explanation other than I am the chef was given. It then got worse with sarcasm in both English and French (one on our table is a fluent French speaker while all speak enough to understand the meaning of the sarcasm!) It got worse with the arrival of the food with my salmon(previously frozen) uncooked for much of the centre, it was recooked with all the items on the plate, congealing the sauce on the poireau. The others had a decent main course. Three of us knew not to bother with puddings - very basic and ordinary, the two new people had a very disappointing café gourmand. The prices while ok are no better, maybe more expensive, than the three top restaurants in the town for lunch. This poor attitude to service is just not acceptable. We hope this was just a poor day and will give it another try.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paulblanc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

A fantastic little seafood restaurant which we as a family have visited both times we have been to France and attempted to return later on in the week again, however it was fully booked. Great friendly service and able to speak English, the menus also were translated in English underneath. 100% recommended. Fantastic food.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Niall2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Stylish but reasonable little restaurant, mainly fish. We enjoyed fresh sardines, delicate white fish, perfectly cooked and presented, with tasty and generous vegetables
Favourite desserts - tarte tatin and ile flottante
Pleasant and efficient service
Would arrange an overnight stay to visit this restaurant again.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeonyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Le Mareyeur also viewed

Saint-Jean-d'Angely, Charente-Maritime
Saint-Jean-d'Angely, Charente-Maritime
 
Saint-Jean-d'Angely, Charente-Maritime
Saint-Jean-d'Angely, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Mareyeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.