We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service over & beyond, provided by Clare, other hotels could definitely learn from her.”
Review of L'Etoile du Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Etoile du Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We stayed here as a family of three for a number of nights at a very difficult & sad time, having just lost a sister and being here for her funeral.
Clare the owner provided so much quiet but unobtrusive support us to us all throughout our stay, allowing our family members who live in France, to visit us and relax in the warmth of her lovely lounge area, and they were not paying guests. staying there. She even went to the bakery at the crack of dawn to ensure we had fresh baguette sandwiches for our journey to the airport. We will be back Clare but in better circumstances next time

Room Tip: All rooms are great & face the river bank, but the suite is great if your a family or a couple w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jules3158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2016

Very welcoming host who could not have been more helpful. Old, character building with huge rooms and very tastefully refurbished. Nice and quiet and within a few minutes walk to the centre of the town. Lovely continental breakfast. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We spent two nights at L'Etoile as a break on the way from St Malo to the Dordogne. It is conveniently situated on the edge of the town where you can easily park on the street, but the walk into town only takes about ten minutes. Claire was very helpful when we asked where we could go cycling for the day and lent us a map to use. Saint Jean D'Angely is not a tourist town, but that was what we liked about it. The restaurants weren't full of other tourists and we were able to practise our French with the waitress. There is a guest lounge and a particularly useful kitchen with a fridge and freezer.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Beautiful building, pretty riverside location and beautifully appointed/decorated/furnished. Extremely comfortable room with a lovely, plentiful traditional French breakfast. Clare, the owner, was great and really helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nic0la_Pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This was the first of eight stops in a road trip to Andalucia (and back). After an early start we arrived weary and hopeful for our stay at L'Etoile du Port. What a fantastic find! the family room we had booked was pristine and loaded with character. Crisp white bed linen and airy spacious longe and cosy nook for the kids in the back bedroom. Our room opened onto the high beamed ceiling of the lounge and dining room - relaxed and informal but everything to an impressively high standard. Breakfast was fresh from the boulangerie, delicious and more than ample. Clare was the perfect host throughout. Highly recommended and we'll definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Jean-d'Angely hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
Hotel-Restaurant La Goule Beneze
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
78 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Restaurant De La Place
Hotel Restaurant De La Place
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
31 reviews
6.6 km away
Domaine de Rennebourg
Domaine de Rennebourg
#2 of 6 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Le Four A Pain
Le Four A Pain
#6 of 6 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
53 reviews
0.9 km away
Abbaye Royale
Abbaye Royale
#4 of 4 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
22 reviews
0.6 km away
Domaine Les Granges
Domaine Les Granges
#1 of 4 in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Etoile du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Etoile du Port

Address: 14 quai de Bernouet, 17400, Saint-Jean-d'Angely, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Price Range: €67 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1633 as a Cognac store this characterful property lies within easy walking distance of Saint Jean D'Angely. It faces the beautiful Boutonne River and is a perfect overnight stop when travelling through France (only 4 mins from the A10). It is also popular with those wanting to spend more time in the area, with easy access to the West coast (La Rochelle, Ile de Re, Royan), and other treats inland, including nearby Cognac and Saintes. Guests have plenty of space and share a large living room and small kitchen (fridge/freezer, microwave, hob) in addition to their well equipped and comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Etoile du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing