We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coffee Shack Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Nenga River Lodge(Coffee Bay)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Ocean View Hotel(Coffee Bay)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gecko Guest House(Coffee Bay)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Coram Deo(Coffee Bay)
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hole in the Wall(Coffee Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
242
71
23
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
71
23
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf lessonsacross the riverdaily activitieshole in the wallfree dinnersouth africawild coastdorm roomkings housegreat activitiesdifferent activitiestoastiessurf packagekiller poolgreat surfwhole thingpool table
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing for those looking for adventure, meeting people and exploring what Coffee Bay has to offer!

You have to be willing to get wet and dirty as you have to cross rivers and walk through mud to get from the one side of the accommodation to the other.

I felt safe and secure especially walking around at night . Coffee Shack has daily activities and evening parties with a great vibe to laugh and forget about everything else but the moment that you are in.

The staff is friendly and know you by name. Just a fantastic vibe overall.

The surf lesson was successful and fun. We also did the hike to the caves and hole in the wall.

Definitely worth the drive from Joburg and would recommend this place to all those who want to discover what South Africa has to offer

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Boitumelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

When I landed to Coffee Bay, i didn't know it was going to be my best experience so far. The hostel has a friendly vibe and the staff is very helpful. Plus, you have a bar and you can order food there if you don't feel like cooking. The surf classes were great and the hikes were well organized. I'm glad I landed there!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Howzit Carly
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, we really appreciate everyone’s feedback and positive encouragement. It is always very rewarding for the staff to see such complimentary reviews and to hear that our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

This is the best hostel I've ever been to. The dtaff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms/huts are nice and clean, the showers are new and really nice and the food is amazing. They serve dinner every night and everyone eats at the same time which makes it easy to get to know people. They also offer surf lessons with a very good teacher! They offer day tours which are great, we saw a lot of whales from the surrounding hills. Simply the best place!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Fanny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Howzit
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, we really appreciate everyone’s feedback and positive encouragement. That is an amazing compliment, “the best hostel, you have ever been to”, thanks again.
Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Have spent a few nights at Coffee Shack and I love my stay there. The hostel is well-maintained and close to the beach. Staff is helpful. And it's a great place to make new friends. I have made so many good friends at Coffee Shack and some of us then travelled together!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cheuk yu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Howzit
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, we really appreciate everyone’s feedback and positive encouragement. Awesome to hear that you thought Coffee Shack was “the perfect place to meet people”, because we really believe the most important thing about travelling is “not the places you see, but the people you meet”.
Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Went on a road trip in 2014 and ended at Coffee Bay. Stay at the Coffee Shack with a mate, had heard good thing from a Varsity friend who had been there regularly. First we stayed in the dorms across the stream. Which we not good for us, as we had to cross the water in near darkness at night and stuff kept falling off the roof if you slept top bunk, after we move to ones closer the main camp which were perfect. The bar situation is wonderful. they run a tab and you pay at the end.. of course it add up to something expensive but i drunk a lot. Was great stay, they offered breakfast and daily activities.. hikes, surf lessons etc. Lots of fun.

Room Tip: Ones closet the main building and bar
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NathanQM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Howzit Nathan
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, we really appreciate everyone’s feedback and positive encouragement. Great to hear that you had a wonderful time.
Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews