We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Where NOT to go in Tobago"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bananaquit Apartments
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

At a first glance, Bananaquit apartments seemed like a nice little getaway in Tobago. We were greeted by a staff member who made an effort to check us in early. However, the said staff member gave us an upgrade we did not request. (If this is considered an upgrade, I'm afraid to see what the intended room was) As we entered the room, we quickly became esconced. I went to shower, and realized the curtain was covered in mildew. It was inherently clear no effort was made to clean the bathroom. The view from our bathroom featured abandoned cars, soiled water tanks, and deb. The bathroom faucet took excessive force to operate, and at times failed to provide hot water. The kitchen was equally disappointing. My fiance attempted to prepare dinner in honor of our first night in Tobago. She was unpleasantly surprised to discover that the pots/pans were highly oxidized. (Rusted) In addition, when she attempted to prepare food on the "stove", the electric "burner" sparked and took considerable time to heat up. Because this is experience was so time consuming and risky, we just settled for carryout.

To further contribute to our dissappointment, our towels were not refreshed on a daily basis. We were forced to use the same ones for at least four days consecutively. We noticed that housekeeping did not have a consistent schedule, and made very little effort to accommodate our needs. (Only emptied the trash once at end of our stay or I guess when they feel like it.)

Needless to say, I could not imagine staying at this property again. As someone who travels frequently, this accommodation has no chance at passing a basic health inspection. The bathrooms are dated, ants were rampant, and the kitchen utterly dispicable. To make matters worse, the staff member we dealt with ensured we would receive a full refund for one night considering our ordeal. We received half, in addition to an email from the hotel full of falacies, empty promises, and insincere
apologies. The individual who wrote the letter suggested "we should return." Mark my words I would never return to this establishment. The staff's inability to meet our simple needs/communicate and the property's desperate need of renovation is truly unbelievable. To the masses, there's way better accomodations in Tobago, do not squander your money here. This hotel is overpriced and makes guest feel wholly unappreciated. Moral of the story, spend your time at a guest house that acutally values their guests.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mbullock3790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananaquit A, General Manager at Bananaquit Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Its a shame that this guest did not take the time to read policies clearly stated on this site, as it is not possible to "lie" about documented policies. Had the guest read the information on our site and responded to our emails, it would have saved a lot of misunderstanding. I will use this opportunity to further clarify policies.;
* Reception hours are limited and and office opens at 9 am, so arrival time at least 24 hours in advance is essential
* Standard check in time of 2 pm, therefore notification of arrival time is essential.
* Valid credit card details are required to confirm a booking.
* Towels and linen are changed every third night as stated on all notices, if daily is service is required please inform reception
* If you require cooking facilities you must make sure to request/book a room with kitchenette. Not all rooms are equipped with kitchen amenities.
* Late cancellations are NOT entitled to refund
Despite the above mentioned and many requests from management, we were NOT provided with an arrival time nor were we given valid credit card details. Despite this lack of response, staff was still made available when they called before 7 am and facilitated their early check in at no extra charge, by accommodating in an upgraded room without kitchen as had been booked (being the only room available at that hour.) Its a shame the guest failed to mention all the above points during their stay, and that we failed to sense their dissatisfaction with the accommodation, It really seemed that all was well during our daily communication and we were surprised at this review . However we will take this complaint very seriously as see if there is a way to make the information more noticeable to visiting guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

This was my first and last time staying at bananaquit. The lack of communication and unprofessionalism was beyond any hotel or hospitality standard. I arrived at bananaquit around 7 am and was fortunate that someone came in early to check us in. Rachel told us that there’s usually a charge for early check in and that she’ll forfeit those charges just for us... that was all before we asked to leave a day earlier.. I mentioned to her upon check that our flight schedule changed and I’d prefer to leave earlier than scheduled. She said it shouldn’t be an issue. She assured us that she would check to make sure Expedia isn’t charging us. Rachel suggested that they won’t have a problem doing it on their side. Simple story short, no one contacted us, there were no clean towels on the 1st, 2nd, or 3rd day. (We stayed for 5 days total) The tv/remote was not working at all (which they claimed they had a tech fix but we never saw him.)The housekeeper came in the day before we left to change our sheets (which was highly questionable.. I wonder if they keep those sheets we used for one night for the upcoming guests.)They didn’t even offer us our own cleaning supplies like a broom/mop since housekeeping is nonexistent. Upon checking out they told us that they’re now going to charge us for early check in without mentioning a word about it. They gave us half a day rate and bunch of excuses as to why they didn’t communicate better.

There are better alternatives in the area like Shepard’s Inn or Crown Guest Houses for value and services. Don’t waste your time coming here, unless you like false promises and terrible service. I wish someone warned me that this hotel was so horrid and I also wish I saw these comments before I booked this place. Like I said, never ever again with no intent to recommend!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Arielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananaquit A, General Manager at Bananaquit Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

I will apply this response to last 2 reviews as it belong to the same guest. I hope to use this opportunity to further emphasize information stated clearly on our site which this client sadly overlooked. Yet still, we accommodated with free early check-in, room upgrade and partial refund which was against cancellation policy. The feedback is surprising, as the guest seemed quite happy when we spoke everyday and its a shame that all this seems to have transpired with the expectation of full refund.

1. ARRIVAL TIME AT LEAST 24 HRS BEFORE IS ESSENTIAL - as stated, reception opens at 9am and check in time is 2 pm.
Numerous attempts were made by management to contact the guest as credit card details provided were invalid and we were never given arrival time. Nevertheless staff was made available as soon a when we learned of their unexpected arrival at 7 am. The onsite Manager facilitated early check in (free of charge) by providing the only available room which resulted in an upgrade to studio with kitchenette as opposed to budget studio without kitchen.

2. LINEN CHANGES ARE PROVIDED EVERY THIRD NIGHT (not every night as incorrectly mentioned)
The guest was supposed to stay 5 nights and ended up staying 4 nights. We do apologise in our failure to reschedule the linen change, and hence why it occurred on the last night instead the 2nd. Fresh towels however were provided on request. Contrary to accusation, linen is obviously changed before every new guest.

3. CANCELLATION POLICY
Please note as indicated through policies on Expedia, any notification of cancellation outside of cancellation window is not entitled to refund. This was waived and the guest was refunded more than half of the cancelled night.

We take very seriously any negative feedback, and All details were promptly checked as mentioned by guest. It would have been so much more beneficial to the guest if we had been informed during their stay as management did not find the listed problems. We were only informed about the TV at check out, and this was checked while the guest was there to show it was working.

Basically, Please tell us or we cant know. Dont inconvenience your vacation by something that can be simply fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

When we arrived the bathroom was locked and we had to wait 2 hours for this to be opened. There was only 1 towel in the room although it was clear that 2 guests were expected. Ventilation in the bathroom is poor. The shower head was so low it was difficult to get under. The shower taps were leaking badly. Sewage was backing up into the kitchen sink and the stench was unbearable. When we reported this we were told maintenance would come and resolve the issue.- This never happened. On leaving the apartment we discovered that we had left a clothing behind and within 24 hours had notified the management who promptly replied that the item had been found and in accordance with their policy had been discarded "in order to ensure a safe and hospitable environment for all guests." It is obvious that this item ( a brand new dress) has found a new home In short this property needs serious refurbishment and I would definitely avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irishdude_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananaquit A, General Manager at Bananaquit Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

The management of Bananaquit pride themselves on the many positive reviews left by satisfied guests and therefore very sorry to read this guests dissatisfaction.
We wish to express our regret at the disposal of the clothing, which was unfortunately left in such a way as to suggest that it was to be discarded and certainly not kept by the hotel staff. Standard procedure requires we do a room check before check-out, specifically to avoid situations like this, however this guest left without notice and did not return the room key hence how this situation unraveled.
Regarding the drainage problem, maintenance actually did respond to the report, however was unable to gain access to the room. Out of respect for the guests' privacy we awaited another opportunity, at a more convenient time.
It is to be noted here that neither the previous guest nor the housekeeper reported this problem nor has it been reported since but measures were taken just in case. Also although suggested, we would like to reassure that our kitchen plumbing is not connected to the sewerage line. The dripping faucet is duly noted, thank you, and has since been fixed.The shower however is not a rain shower head, is at least 6 ft high and not meant to stood directly under as it shoots outwards.

Our booking conditions clearly state that the property does not have a 24 hour reception and therefore stresses the importance of prior notification of arrival details. Since this information was not sent and the credit card details provided were invalid, there was considerable doubt as to the validity of this booking. In spite of this, information for self-registration was left for the guests should they arrive. Within 30 minutes of receipt of this notification, a manager was at the property to deal with the bathroom door issue - which incidentally took less than a minute to open.

Taking all into consideration, Bananaquit offers, as a gesture of goodwill, a complimentary night's stay to the guests, should they wish to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

The rooms were beautiful. It's good value for what you get such as free parking and Wi Fi. The view was breathtaking especially when sitting outside amongst Nature. The airport was a walking distance.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank barnettgaylebernice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananaquit A, General Manager at Bananaquit Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

So happy you enjoyed your stay with us . Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

10 min from the airrort near by the beach very friendly staff .love greetings to the team Raquel Karon and Simon a lot of supermarkets and stores and bars near by bus connection very good always hourly taxi were no problem at all

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ellerblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananaquit A, General Manager at Bananaquit Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you mostly kindly for your feedback. I will make sure your greetings taken back to the responsible staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.8 km away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
12.4 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
257 reviews
0.5 km away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
6.1 km away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
92 reviews
9.4 km away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananaquit Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananaquit Apartments

Address: Storebay Local Road | Bananaquit Apartments, Crown Point Tobago, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Crown Point
Price Range: €53 - €250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananaquit Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bananaquit is conveniently located in the Crown Point area. A peaceful haven in the hub of activity for those seeking more personal interaction than larger resorts. The property offers a variety of self catered rooms with or without kitchenettes, with onsite restaurant and bar. All within walking distance of beaches, bars, restaurants, groceries and entertainment for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bananaquit Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananaquit Apartments Hotel Crown Point
Bananaquit Apartments Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing