We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience. Honest folks, good fun

Visited with our two young children and loved it ! Really enjoyed the experience- so much better... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Sandokarn
via mobile
Best animal experience with a view!

You can get a great experience petting tamed animals here. They’ve got Llamas, alpacas, sheep, a... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Flymehigh
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Read all 187 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Glenorchy
from US$135.60
More Info
from US$250.30
More Info
from US$208.60
More Info
from US$215.60
More Info
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
175
8
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
8
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly animals sheep shearing feed the animals the owner guinea pigs beautiful farm animal lovers animal food per adult lamb our favourite friendly hosts amazing animals wonderful visit bottle feed impromptu visit hand feed
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The animals are so well looked after you can see them smile. They certainly made my day. This hidden gem is one hour scenic drive from Queenstown. The farm itself has a great view to the snowy mountains.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank BeaW245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese K, Owner at Glenorchy Animal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for the review. I love the photo of Cass our Dexter cow. And yes we often think as well that the animals are smiling. Maybe they are?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

It was a really lovely day out, lots of friendly animals to feed and stroke with incredible views aswell. The owner was awesome and extremely friendly. I went to see the pigs, as they are my favourite and I was not disappointed!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Talitha-Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese K, Owner at Glenorchy Animal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Awesome, thank for your review. Always good to read someone loves our pigs. Since your visit they got a bit shelter we nicknamed the "pig motel" because it looks rather posh. And the pigs stay snug and dry for winter that way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We showed up on a rainy morning with our two children to see the alpacas. Despite the rain the trip didn’t disappoint. The owners were friendly and engaging and we were given two packs of food to feed the animals out back.

There is a loop course to walk around the farm and the fan favorite is the pig that will open his mouth for you to drop in treats! There are several friendly alpacas as well as a number of sheep and some greedy goats.

Sheep are shorn daily at 2:30pm, but unfortunately we missed this. Staff are available to explain the process, though, and let children feel the wool. A small gift shop has various NZ and imported products.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank AndrewSawhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese K, Owner at Glenorchy Animal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for your favourable review. It is always harder to make a farm attractive in the rain and we are so glad to hear you had a great time "no matter what". We are working on a covered area for the Guinea Pigs and the Rabbits so that in future they can be accessed without getting wet - even in the most challenging weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We visisted here today. Was a great experience. All the animals were so beautiful and were really friendly. Our favourite was the donkey and pig that lived in a paddock together. The owners were really lovely and informative about the farm and the local area. Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese K, Owner at Glenorchy Animal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thanks Amy for your positive review and the lovely pictures you posted!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Some feedback from our 4 and 6 year old:

"It's like a petting zoo and we helped feed the animals."

"They were so cute! The baby chicks were the cutest. And the horse."

"The most babiest lamb I loved!"

In America we have had lots of petting zoo type experiences but none of them are set in quite so spectacular a landscape as this one! It was a beautiful afternoon and the kids loved seeing and feeding the many types of animals. It wasn't particularly cheap but we enjoyed it enough to make it worth it.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese K, Owner at Glenorchy Animal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for your review; yes we are lucky to be surrounded by stunning scenery. We are glad you and your children had a good time! Love their feedback =D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews