We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
US$147
View deal
Booking.comUS$158
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$166
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
147
68
30
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
147
68
30
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private onsen ski lift luxurious apartment chair lift basement floor outdoor pool ski equipment rental location is fantastic ski run in december hirafu village restaurant bookings washer dryer ski trip convenient store in house end of the day
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2021

There are a couple of pros and cons to The Vale, we stayed here briefly.

The rooms are very stuffy, there is little to no ventilation - so you'd have to turn the heating all the way down. The decor in the rooms are nice though, and I rate them highly.

Check-in and Check-out was quick and efficient, members of staff were all friendly and kind and helpful.

One thing I would criticise is that the Ski Shop's rates are really high, go out to one of the local ones (Rhythm - close by) instead.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adrianch218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2020

Just gave us the option to change reservation until October which makes no sense as things will not be normal then and also no ski season which was why we chose it in the first place...
ANA airlines and rest of hotels did the right thing except them. It is a shame as when the time comes to go to Niseko we will stay someplace else.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HugoC1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2020 via mobile

Obviously the Coronavirus has caused unprecedented disruption around the world. Most business are generally understanding when it comes to dealing with cancellations or postponements. Not these guys. No refund whatsoever - not even partial. Complete refusal to consider deferring or rescheduling the booking into the next ski season. Rude emails. What a terrible, terrible experience. It’s difficult times that tell you all you really need to know about a business and it’s values. Shocking from them. Boycott this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank tijaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2020

People I've known loved it over the years, myself included BUT this time, due to Covid-19, our flight was cancelled by the airline and the hotel backpedaled on our available options in line with the news updates! from delaying dates to 2021 to current year 2020 to just Summer 2020 (where Summer on their T&C states 1 May - 22 Nov), we were told until 31 October?! Also, they have ghosted us when we queried on their heavily promoted guests' well-being versus curt e-mail exchanges! You will see that their polite responses are only for the WorldWideWeb.. very different in personal e-mails.
We mentioned that their "flexible" options were in their favor as summer there is hotter than our country and our purpose was to snowboard.. however, given that we have only till end of October, were we supposed to ski on dry ground/ grass? Silence. As what 1 reviewer on Fbpage mentioned.. they just ghosted his e-mails when BEFORE his crisis, there was a steady stream of replies.

Lack of contingency plans... which they only posted AFTER Hokkaido's state of emergency.. but failed to address for over a week - we were told it's absolutely safe, Attested that infections are Very. very. few.. Also, they have tried to delete comments on their FBpage too. Their Gold standards advertized on their Nisade page is never about You in mind. only your monies.

When it is mentioned the response was unexpected from a lux brand, considered it's on average $1500/night.. the reply from their general manager was.. "Nisade is NOT a conglomerate business such as..." that's it. It was SO PAINFUL..No regards for guests' well-being hit by disasters/in crisis. Shocking! In fact, other rigid japanese managed hotels who understood our flight was cancelled, actually offered us a refund. Our friends booked at other luxury hotels in the area were offered compensation too. Money aside, one may argue its the guests' fault. However, for those conscious of environmental/ social impact of purchase decisions from brands that resonate with personal values, do consider embracing the true ethos of social luxury.

For the exorbitant price matched here with an incompetent team as highlighted by other reviewers who mentioned seasonal travelers are hired to cover duties and they have admitted to this in their response to that reviewer in Tripadvisor...
All one needs to do, is FILTER the Average/ Poor / Terrible reviews to read through how guests are being treated especially during a crisis... like a victim from the 2011 Tsunami earthquake crisis.. he named the CEO who basically responded that they're still in operation.. his choice as policies remain enforced. .. Also, make sure to read every bad review on their FB. Please everyone, read the Terms and Conditions link which you will receive on your payment receipt e-mail.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Service
9  Thank 82kvrigan29928
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2020 via mobile

For the price overall a disappointing experience I would like to share with you that they did not disclose
- There is no thermostat in the rooms.
So in order to get the room where you want it to be either you have to open up the window and let the cold air in or turn on the hot water in the shower to let the steam and hot air in. A not so fun balancing act for 12 hours a day for nine days
- There is no speaking English channels on the TV!!! What?? I travel the world all the time and never had this issue ever at any hotel
I guess they opted out to pay for those? ‍♂️
- We ordered a car from the front desk to take us to the airport they charge us extra for a bigger car ( we had a ski bag). the car that showed up was very very small my girlfriend had to sit on my lap the driver couldn’t see out with all our gear in the car. very dangerous!!! The hotel had attitude when I asked for a refund and they only refunded 5% of the total cost. Make sure you see the picture of the car!!! Our ride was at six in the morning and had no other alternative!
The really screwed us.

On the bright side the Hotel food is good!

Best of luck to all but I wouldn’t go back

FYI
And most of the Lifts are over 50 years old

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank pig2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews