We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run-down infrastructure with friendly service”
Review of Hotel Grand Champ

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malmedy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Grand Champ
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Malmedy
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Run-down infrastructure with friendly service”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I discovered the already well known Ferme Libert as a kid, some 40 years ago; I used to go with the family to feed the deer, watch wild boars and have a lovely warm waffle at the restaurant. Pleasantly located on top of a hill, next to the forest with lots of walking trails. Over four decades, little has changed on the outside. We spent two nights right after Christmas. Although I had never stayed there before, I suspect little has changed inside too. Accommodation is completely outdated; lousy decoration, basic bathrooms, uncomfortable beds, thin walls. On the bright side, rooms are very clean; all staff are friendly and do their best to help. Our kids loved the breakfast buffet: plenty of fresh bread with plenty of Nutella, local cheese and 'charcuterie'. We loved the homemade marmalades, especially plum, rhubarb and blueberry. Too bad coffee was average at best.
Prices were fair in comparison with other locations in the area.
In summary, a good place for nature lovers not in search of anything fancy. Definitely not for honeymooners.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristmasPudding2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    14
    3
    11
See reviews for
14
12
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We went for lunch: ended up with 7 entrees for 5 people; they forgot to bring us the 8th: the order was not taken correctly. Side orders arrived when we had finished the meat. Compote turned out to be a tinned pear; waitress apologized because the handle of the wine pichet was broken. The cold came in through the broken windows. It is about time someone start to renovate the place and maybe the owner should limit their responsibilities to talking to the guest and not try to take the orders any more. Such a pity I have been coming there for many years, but I refuse to go down with the establishment and the rest of the customers. I will be looking for another restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robfets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malmedy hotels

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Ferme Libert is a lovely hotel and is run by a kind lady who seems to be around for 24 hours per day. The rooms are very basic and rather dated (brown/ orange etc.) but not uncomfortable. They are in need of an upgrade, especially the bathrooms. I booked connecting rooms, but they turned out to be adjoining rooms instead. The location and the views are magnificent but yet the hotel is only a few minutes drive to the centre of Malmedy as well as the Circuit de Spa-Franchorchamps.
Breakfast was nice, and typical for the region. Great cheese! We also dined in the restaurant one night, where the menu is extensive and portions very generous.
All in all, a very pleasant stay and, once the rooms have been re-done, we will return!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senninha888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2010

After being embarrassingly let down by another hotel in Malmedy, I made enquiries at the local Hospital for alternatives for our Group of 16 people, who thought they might be sleeping on the street. A doctor gave the Libert as his personal reference.

We just loved the Hotel Libert, ate a delicious dinner there, and had a great night, socialising. The home-made Myrtle Jam was delicious. The owner is elderly and softly spoken, but if you persist you will find she is a lovely lady, with so much knowledge. The King & Queen of Belgium dined here with the Lady's parents.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernieho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I stay at Ferme Libert everytime I visit Spa circuit. It is a plain and simple hotel but is always clean and with lovely staff. The deer roam around the gardens and it is set in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n77njc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmedy
3.8 km away
Val D'Arimont Hotel
Val D'Arimont Hotel
#1 of 11 in Malmedy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Restaurant Albert 1er
6.5 km away
Domaine des Hautes Fagnes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel de la Source
Hotel de la Source
#1 of 5 in Francorchamps
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
6.8 km away
Hotel Cyrano
Hotel Cyrano
#3 of 7 in Waimes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
8.5 km away
Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Champ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Champ

Property: Hotel Grand Champ
Address: Route de la Ferme Libert 31, Malmedy 4960, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Malmedy
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Malmedy
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing