We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed the carvery bug yuim”
Review of The Elms

The Elms
Ranked #12 of 58 Restaurants in Lutterworth
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: This lovely family pub is situated on the edge of Lutterworth. The Elms has a sun drenched patio which is perfect for those long summer days and a children's play area to keep the kids amused. During the winter we invite you to come and bask in the heat of our real fire, a feature which only adds to the traditional ambience of this charming pub. With quality pub food being served at very reasonable prices, the Elms is the perfect pub for all the family.Also, Find us on Facebook!!If you like our page you can receive free offers when you show our team the page on your phone.Alternatively, if you do not have facebook the go onto our pub page and sign up to our database to receive all our latest offers
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Really good value for money the carvery, would highly recommend as great value and lovely atmosphere.

1  Thank lionelr80890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elms2013, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Very happy you found the carvery such good value and so enjoyable, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

The mains, especially the carvery, are good value for money.

There was a choice if three meats - while the turkey was lovy the beef was a little dry and we dis not have the gammon.

Veg was good and the condiments/sauces excellent.

Cakes, very good but expensive at £5.95 nearly the price of another carvery meal. The eat all you like ice cream was better value at £2.95.

We would certainly eat here again.

Staff all friendly too and service was not too slow, but we did eat ahead of the evening rush.

Thank Nickyhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elms2013, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

We're thrilled to hear you had such a lovely time with us and found enough to satisfy your appetites at good value for your money! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This restaurant is extremely good value and the food is pretty good too, although you want to go at a "busy" period as otherwise the carvery can get a bit dried out. Have been twice on a Sunday lunchtime and it was superb, once late afternoon when not so good. Handy for a last minute lunch out as you don't have to book and although it's busy at the weekends, a table for two or four is found quite quickly.

Thank AM1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elms2013, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

We're very happy to hear you find our carvery such good value and so enjoyable, though we are sorry you did have a disappointing experience, and are working with our kitchen team to control the quality of our carvery in these hours. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Went with a party of 6 for birthday celebration. £7.95 ham egg & chips meal, disgusting, presentation was obviously not the order of the day, 1 runny egg 1 solid yoked egg and a pile of soggy chips looking as though they had been thrown onto the plate with not a sign of ham to be seen, until, I managed to remove some chips only to find LUMPS of very dry gammon (obviously the end of the carvery joint that had been left to dry out under a lamp or hot plate) so dry it was difficult to swallow and felt as though it was scraping the sides of the throat. When the server removed the plates, l told her about the meal and how bad it was, she came back to me to say ‘The Chef?’would have a word with the butcher on Tues, what an insult to the butcher, I told her that he dryness was because it was over cooked and left to dry out, She totally disregarded the fact I had also complained about the presentation, the presentation wasI feel to disguise the awful gammon underneath. My husband had the £12.95 bbq ribs which he said were the most tasteless he’d ever been served, lots of meat but no taste along with soggy chips. The pub was not busy at the time, (have never seen so few people in there at that time) we normally go for the carvery but that looked tired and veggies looked soggy so went for the main menu, what a mistake!! Come the Management & Chef? get your act together and up your game, plenty more pubs out there with better quality food now.

Thank susanhK876MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elms2013, Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

We thank you for your comments and are very sorry to hear about your disappointing visit. We have retrained staff in understanding these matters and aim to do better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

visited the elms with my father in law on March 16th 2018. both had the same meal and we were both ill that night so i rang and informed the manager on the Sunday to let them know in case there was a problem. We were not after any form of compensation and the manager took my details and informed that this would be passed on to head office(their procedures) who would contact me.I had heard nothing so rang the manager the following Tues for any feedback and was met with disregard.Nine days later and no reply from head office. TOTALLY DISGUSTING SERVICE.was a regular customer but not any more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alanbourne111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Elms also viewed

Lutterworth, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 
Great Glen, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing