We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
99
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la gomera perfect hosts perfect location canary islands herman mountains views village apartment hillside sea garden sutra
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2020

I chose Anaterve because of the fantastic reviews and I’m so glad I did. Amala and Herman really are the perfect hosts. They are so warm, friendly and helpful without being at all intrusive. What’s more they are amazing cooks and their food is delicious. We stayed in the apartment which has phenomenal views over the village and out to sea. Yes there is a steep hill to climb but it’s a small price to pay for the views and it really wasn’t as steep as I was envisaging from the pictures. If you are visiting La Gomera you can’t escape steep hills!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorseAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

A welcoming hotel with great food. The view from this hotel is phenomenal. Call up the hotel before 4 to book a veggie meal cooked to order. Vallehermoso is a lovely quiet town nestled in the mountains

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 900fayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019

We stayed in the hotel Anaterve for nine nights in December 2018.
All the rooms are different. We had a corner room with a double aspect. The bed was comfortable. The furnishings were elegant. The ensuite was spacious but no bidet.

The breakfast was good value. The evening meals which you had to order beforehand were superb vegetarian cooking. Far better quality than anything that could be had in the restaurants in Vallehermoso.

All very objective but what impressed us the most was the atmosphere of calm peacefulness. Some of it is a function of the building and how it is on its own promontory but a lot is due to the character of the owners Herman and Amalia and their sensitivity towards their guests. Very welcoming but in no way intrusive. We would certainly go again.

Parking at the hotel does require a good strong handbrake and is challenging but there was always space in the free car park in the plaza below and after the first night that was were we chose to park.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2019

A lovely place with 5 rooms, and the owners couldn’t be warmer, more friendly or more helpful. Lovely breakfast with eggs from their own chickens. Plenty of helpful advice regarding walks, restaurants etc.

Important to be aware that the hotel is right at the top of a steep hill: this gives great views but means a tough walk up from the town’s restaurants etc. More importantly, there is only space for a couple of cars so although you can probably drop your bags off, you might then have to park down the hill.

We loved it and will definitely be back. We had a small room, would probably book their apartment next time.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2018

My wife and I stayed at Anaterve for 3 nights as part of a week's trip to La Gomera. I expected a bigger space, but there were perhaps 5 rooms. Our room was airy, clean and looked straight down the valley - amazing views! Herman and Amalie were charming... incredibly relaxed but helpful and knowledgeable when asked. There are so many walks out of Vallehermoso that there's hardly a need to travel... all absolutely breathtaking and hard work but rewarding.
We are not vegetarians and weren't sure what to expect in the way of evening meals - optional at 14 euros a head. We needn't have worried - large, tasty portions .... not just "one pot" meals but well thought out with side dishes.
All in all - just about perfect!

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews