We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
553
51
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
553
51
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red squirrels logie steading other guests four poster bed peaceful location beautiful surroundings warm welcome the perfect host dining room tea and coffee lovely room scones a lovely stay porridge full scottish breakfast grantown on spey iain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

Excellent hosts who are very attentive to their guests. Lovely rooms, very comfortable. Food at breakfast is amazing! Very pet friendly, catered well for my two labradors. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and we will be returning in the future.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AEvans13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

It was a pleasure to meet you all! Hope your dogs made lots of new doggy friends when they had their play around outside with the other resident dogs! Now you know where we are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last month to round off a week in Scotland & were lucky enough to find last minute availability here after being amazed by the glowing reviews. In our whole week in Scotland, staying at multiple properties, hotels and BnBs, this was one of our absolute favourites and even before we left, we both mentioned how much we would love to return with our parents one day. The rooms are so spacious, opulent, ours had robes, teas, coffees shortbread, a 4 poster bread, a lovely view of the front of the property.

The 3 course dinner we had on our first night was marvelous, we were sent a menu in advance as well as shown it on arrival at the hotel, when we made our choices. The food was marvelous & the chicken terrine and sticky toffee , in particular, were outstanding! Tea, coffee and petit fours could be enjoyed in the beautiful lounge at the end of the night, which was a lovely cosy way to end the meal.

Breakfasts, too, were a lovely balance of different menu items, all made to perfection with lovely mixed fresh fruit, such respect for any of our requests , giving me my teas of choice. I hate wasting food so asked for small portions, which they kindly served me but then the pancakes were so good that the following morning, I had to backtrack and ask for a standard portion after all!! :-)

There are some nice woods right next door to the hotel, where we enjoyed an early evening walk & spotted our first red squirrel.

The real & most apparent treasure this hotel has going for it, however , is the kindness warmth & hospitality shown by Iain & Elaine, who prepares away so much of the tasty treats behind the scenes. Iain would greet us & chat to us everytime we came or went, seems available almost all the time. On our final night when we hadn't made a dinner booking and decided to get a takeaway instead, Iain was kind enough to suggest he would lay out a table for us in the dining room so that even our takeaway felt special & he cleaned it all up for us afterwards.

Meticulous attention to covid precautions too. Hand gels, assigned dining tables for the duration of the stay, track and trace etc.

Really cannot praise this wonderful place enough. It is a joy & privilege to stay somewhere like this, you will be so well looked after.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hungryforcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Thank you for submitting a review - it really gives the reader an insight into your stay and experiences at Tigh na Sgiath, reassuring also for those worried about covid precautions. Hope to welcome you back at some point!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

Excellent all round . Wonderful house with homely atmosphere. Attentive and helpful hosts and a special breakfast well above average
Second visit and the same high standard and warmth of reception
Advice and recommendations re local area ,facilities and restaurants given by our hosts who clearly are committed to providing the best possible experience

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was lovely to be able to welcome you back! Hope to see you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2021

We stayed for 3 nights, absolutely perfect hospitality and food, couldnt be improved in anyway as we felt spoiled throughout. The hosts provided lots of useful tips on where to go which we would never have found without their expertise. Such a beautiful house, but not stuffy, just very friendly hosting, which was much appreciated as this was a first visit with our dog, we couldnt have had a better experience. Food was exceptional, house and room were stunning and hosting superb - we will certainly return very soon, thanks for a cracking stay.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marycF3506NR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

So pleased that your first visit with your dog was enjoyable! Thank you for the lovely cakes, they didnt last the afternoon!
Hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2021

After a two night stay at this hotel we can’t recommend it enough! The hotel is ran by a lovely couple who went over and above to cater for our needs- the hotel itself is immaculate and the food was outstanding. Great stay!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bethannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure to meet you and hope we can welcome you back before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews