We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
519
50
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
519
50
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red squirrels logie steading other guests four poster bed peaceful location beautiful surroundings warm welcome the perfect host dining room tea and coffee lovely room scones wonderful stay porridge full scottish breakfast grantown on spey iain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

This was one of the most delightful stays we have had.
The drive up to the building is stunning real Victorian splendour. Looks like a miniature dream castle. Inside it is equally inviting and every nook and cranny is perfect.
Lush decorations and furniture and the owners greet you with a very warm welcome.
We arrived with a car full and a cat on our way to Shetland and were pretty tired and scruffy. The owners took no notice of our appearance and welcomed us as if we were royalty.
The most amazing thing was they are pet friendly and allowed our little cat in in her basket with no problem. This was the warmest of welcomes in a warm and comforting place.
Micro grandiose here, this was once the family home of the Lipton family famous for their tea empire, then sold to the Hartleys of the Jam empire. No scrimping here it was fabulous and retained its flamboyant beauty.
We were tucked away in the attic as we booked at the last minute, but even so the room was lovely and the bathroom beautiful.
Breakfast was superb and this really is a wonderful place to stay.
Makes you feel special, and you dont say that every day. Thank you Tigh na Sgiath.

Room tip: All the rooms and public spaces are gorgeous
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for, sadly, only one night during a two week vacation in Scotland. The host was very congenial and helpful all while checking people in and out, serving drinks, dinner and breakfast. The home was so inviting and made us feel like we were special guests. We both had the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon for breakfast and it was very good. The breakfast room as well as all other gathering places were so lovely! Our room was on the top floor and despite some low ceiling angles it was spacious and comfortable.

One thing that would be helpful to us Americans would be a placard telling how to use the electric shower! It took us a few minutes to realize the on switch was outside the bathroom door!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank cyclingduo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Ian was on the ball from arrival to the departure. A classic example of how hospitality should be experienced. As late bookers for only one evening, we did not use the menu offered. But witnessed many satisfied customer leaving the dining room later in the evening. Good range of drinks available. Breakfast was spot on, with Ian once again gliding amongst the tables producing toast and tea/coffee from seemingly nowhere.
A very relaxing stay overall.

Room tip: Some of the rooms are not ensuite, but have adjoining bathrooms.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedros143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

What can I say about this place. The hotel itself is so lovely with beautiful decor and fabulous bedrooms all individually unique. Booked out the hotel for the weekend for a family event. Dinner and breakfast of the highest standard using lovely local produce. Attention to detail was clear. The owners couldn’t have been more accommodating and work extremely hard to ensure your visit is relaxing and comfortable. Beautiful hotel in beautiful peaceful surroundings. A real treat!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank BarbaraGroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

My father and I couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Tigh na Sgiath House. Iain and Elaine were so helpful and hospitable. We enjoyed spending time with them when they weren't busy making sure everyone's stay was perfect. Our visit marks the second time someone in my family (from Texas) stayed with Iain and Elaine, and both visits scored exceptionally high marks. I hope to return!
Very close to distilleries in Speyside. Great dining options.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sapaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews