We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rully
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clos Belloy - Maison d'hotes
Ranked #4 of 5 Rully B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed here for a weekend with friends and a small child. We had an apartment which was lovely and very clean and extremely quiet. The house and setting were great, with antiques throughout the house and a great breakfast. Unfortunately we hadn't been made aware they don't accept cheques or cards so we needed to do a quick trip to a nearby town to visit the cash point. After a very relaxing weekend Monsieur Belloy directed us there and two of us nipped in while the remaining two cleared the room. He kindly recommended the local market instead of the supermarket to get a picnic lunch and warned us, because of the market, the centre of the village would be closed so it may take a little time to park. We'd cleared the room by 10.45am so the remaining couple had a coffee in the beautiful reception room while payment was brought. We paid, put the remaining bag in the car and remembered a toy which we thought we'd left in the apartment. One of our party ran back up, we knew the room hadn't been cleaned and we hadn't locked it. As she was going up there she explained to Madame Belloy what she was doing, unfortunately she was met with a rude and unorthodox response, she was told she was taking the mick (not quite so politely) and that we should have checked the website and have known they didn't take cards (we had booked through a different site, which we had told them and there was no mention of this on that site, or in our room - in fact there was no check out information at all brought to our attention). She was so horrid it left the individual in our group both shaken and upset and ruined the 'holiday feeling' we'd really appreciated throughout our stay. We feel very strongly that if a room is several hundred euros a night that perhaps we can presume that cards are an acceptable form of payment, and if not we would be made aware of this. As it happened we were in no great rush so nipping to town wasn't as issue, however we do not expect to be spoken or treated in such a disdainful fashion, especially as we had vacated the room well within usual checking out times (we still don't know what time checkout was supposed to be) so had they wished to service it they could. We don't wish to leave a negative review as this is a lovely place to explore Burgundy from, however we feel that Madam Belloy really needs to think about the way in which she speaks to people - never mind guests of the house.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Boozle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

Didn't stay here but just wanted to share my experience with people on Tripadvisor.
I stopped of here while driving with my family through Burgundy.I rang the door bell and was somewhat greated by a lady who seemed surprised to see a guest at the door.I asked wether she had a room for a family.She looked at me and said she had to ask her husband,After a couple of seconds a small nervous guy comes to the door and tells me they are full and shuts the door in my face.Thats what I call hospitality.I then went on to have a great evening et LE MONTRACHET.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angelo65Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2007

My wife and I took a cycling trip through Burgundy in late April and early May of 2007. We arranged our tour through Florent at Bourgogne Randonnees in Beaune. We can't say enough about how pleased we were with the accomodations and restaurants that Florent arranged for us. Clos Belloy is actually in Rully, which is very close to Chagny.
Rully is a charming Burgundian village with the typical wineries, church and The Chateau Rully. When we arrived after a long day of biking, Dominique and Dominique were there to great us. The house has been in their family for generations and is gorgeous, very well maintained, with a lot of character. The private bathrooms were the best I have seen in either 3-4 star hotels or other B&B's. The beds were comfortable and the backyard with a gorgeous pool was very nice as well.
The best part of the experience was our interactions with Dominque and Dominque. They are gracious hosts, who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We stayed two nights and on the second night, because of a national holiday in France, many restaurants were closed. Being that we had bicycles and nothing within walking distance was open. Dominque drove us in his car to our restaurant, taking a scenic route through the hills and giving us a guided tour of sorts. He dropped us off and let the hostess know to call when we were ready to be picked up. After a wonderful dinner, he arrived back to drive us. He is fluent in english, which made our poor French language ability a non-issue. I can't recommend their B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteisataol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

After a day's cycling we were thrilled to find ourselves at Clos Belloy in Rully being welcomed by Dominic and Dominique. They have recently restored their home and have four rooms to let, each beautifully decorated. They open their home to guests and there is a lovely sitting room, a terrace, a gorgeous garden and even a swimming pool. They are very gracious hosts and we could not recommend this place too highly. There is a fantastic restaurant a few minutes walk away, a castle in town and a beautiful church.

Thank wolfieOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsEtnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clos Belloy - Maison d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos Belloy - Maison d'hotes

Address: 12 Grande rue, 71150 Rully, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Rully
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rully
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing