We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouet, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed 5 November 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Needed a nice, relaxing, charming place for vacation. We were not disappointed in Jon and his place. Great location as close to many historical sights and a great market. Enjoyed the large kitchen to cook great treats from the local market. Loved the great room and fireplace for imaginative story telling. Exactly the retreat I needed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P
Guiseley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“La Plissonnais. - La Perfection”
Reviewed 25 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I don’t know where to start
La Plissonnais is a 8 bedroom Normandy gite housing up to 22 adults
As we found, it easily houses 2 families but could do 4-5 families comfortably
The host, Jon B is an English Ex Pat who loves L’Europe and couldn’t be more accommodating
It’s relaxing. It’s quiet, it’s off the beaten road - we loved it
If there is a better place to stay for large groups in Normandy then shout out otherwise this is your place

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beearley
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dirty and needs updating!”
Reviewed 19 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Regrettably, have to agree with the French review from May 1st 2018. On arrival we were given a tour of the house and broken things that were not to be used were pointed out to us, such as a faulty oven and a significantly damaged and unsafe ensuite. The general decor seemed far more tired than expected (not simply due to being an old farmhouse) but as we were exhausted after our long journey, we did not see the full extent of its condition until the next morning.
The carpets throughout appeared not to have been vacuumed in weeks, floors were unswept with nail heads sticking out of floorboards (particularly concerning staying with a toddler), light switches and appliances were filthy. The kitchen was particularly poor, with a greasy pan left on the side, mouldy food jars left out and extremely dirty extractor fan, walls, cupboards and drawers. There was a continuous mouldy smell throughout the house even with windows open, and we found many items were mouldy, such as the cot mattress, most of the outside soft furnishings and many walls and ceilings. The sunshade was also unstable to the point of being dangerous when the wind blew.
Following our complaint, Jon came on Monday to clean the kitchen and hoover the carpets but the house still felt incredibly grubby overall. Its state was not something that could be sorted in a few hours. Unfortunately there seemed to be a complete lack of awareness that its condition was far below an acceptable standard, and there also seemed to be a tendency to make excuses and blame guests for its condition. Jons model is to rely on previous guests to clean before new guests arrive, and he has given himself only 4 hours between exchanges. It is unrealistic to expect guests to leave a house cleaner than they have found it and new guests shouldn't have to spend the first few days of their holiday cleaning. Ultimately Jon is responsible for the state of the house and perhaps the time between exchanges should be reviewed, or a team of cleaners employed. Jon also implied that our group must not be suited to a rural property. This is untrue as several of the group have lived in rural cottages and successfully rented equivalent holiday homes in the past without issues.
To his credit, there were things that Jon went over and above with. There was a welcome basket, fresh goats cheese for us to try and when there was no running water one morning, he fixed this quickly. He did offer to pay for a group meal as compensation, however one of our party felt too awkward to accept this. In hindsight we should have accepted, and also tried to find alternative accommodation, but when on holiday, especially in a large group and in the height of the season, the tendency is to try and make the best of a bad situation. Some of the issues we also did not discover until our final day, such as a filthy mattress when we removed the sheets, an unsafe plug socket next to child's bed (hanging off the wall here and in other locations) and a metal curtain rail fell down during normal use due to being poorly secured with wrong fastenings.
In the end we left a day early, very disappointed and are unable to recommend. We rarely write negative reviews but felt compelled to as would not want others to have the same experience as us. We have taken many photos to show but are unable to load here. We enjoyed the pool and garden, and not wanting to be in the house meant we explored more of Normandy than we otherwise would have. We are sure this used to be a lovely house, and hope Jon takes this feedback on board and uses it constructively to address the gross lack of cleanliness and safety issues that are really letting this place down, rather than making excuses for it and blaming guests. We cleaned the property on leaving so at least the next guests will find the property a little better than we did!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
You couldn't get a better example of "you can't please all of the people all of the time" than a poor review sandwiched between two perfect reviews. It became obvious that you did not appreciate the property on day 2, at which point you were offered a goodwill refund or to find you alternative accommodation. You declined both offers, and despite being explicitly asked to keep an eye on the shower in bedroom 7, failed to report the extensive water damage to the landing. I'm truly sorry that you didn't have a more enjoyable holiday. Thankfully the rest of my summer is filled with repeat visitors, who clearly don't share your opinions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misslgilm...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming place in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Nine of our family stayed here for a week last week and found the property to be very charming. We received a lovely, warm welcome from Jon and enjoyed the house and grounds. The surrounding countryside is beautiful. This place is perfect for large groups who want a simple, French home from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2018
Thank you Laura! It was a pleasure to host you all, and you are very welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine A...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect start to summer!”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was my second visit to La Plissonnais. The first time flew over, this time I drove and brought my Mum and grandmother. The location makes it a great hub from which to explore Normandy and Brittany from - and it's just an hour and half from Cherbourg.
From the moment we arrived, Jon made sure we had everything we needed and gave useful advice and tips whenever I needed it. My grandmother is partially disabled so we need to plan what we do in advance and finding the best routes, parking and opening hours is really important. The location is idilicic and peaceful. We've already scheduled next May's visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing