We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful blossom”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hassocks, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hilary053...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful blossom”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed in one of the nearby Moat Cottages recently, we knew how well-equipped and comfortable this stay would be. When we were in Newtimber in February, the drifts of snowdrops were wonderful. This time we had the beauty of the early blossom on the fruit trees in the privacy of the walled garden which must be a perfect suntrap in the summer months.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again. Best wishes Andrew & Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne W
Ipswich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail, second to none”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Orchard cottage is quite simply the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. It was fully equipped, with lots of added extras. We loved the welcome pack which included locally sourced produce and a delicious home-made cake. It was spotlessly clean and warm, as we had unseasonably cold and wet weather!
The cottage is positioned in a beautiful walled garden, which itself is within the Newtimber estate. Beautiful views of the surrounding downs and excellent local information, provided by the owners.
We stayed for a week for our sons wedding and it was just perfect, Thank you Mr & Mrs Clay, we would love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Regards Andrew & Carol Clay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike73
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a nice week in the Countryside”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked Orchard Cottage, because of it's location near the South Downs Way. It was everything we wished for and more! Wonderful cottage and great welcome with fresh baked cake. The cottage is set on the premises of Newtimber Place, and placed in a walled old orchard garden, giving you all the privacy you want.

Nice touch the excellent HiFi options to connect via internet / bluetooth and iPhone with our favorite (home-abroad) radio stations. Giving us the feeling realy feel at home after a long day of walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Walled garden
Liked least: Sometimes you could hear the (busy) road nearby
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomfordTr...
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Country escape”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Orchard Cottage is a little gem nestled in the South Downs, with easy access to Brighton and surrounding area. A beautifully appointed 3 bed all with en-suite cottage situated in the walled kitchen garden of a Country House, close to and with easy access to the A23.All amenities in the cottage washer/dryer, dishwasher and all you need...just bring the food and drink. Excellent welcome pack of cake, milk , butter and preserves was much enjoyed and the Hosts are extremely friendly.
A definite return is needed!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to review your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle9...
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The cottage was lovely - very clean, spacious, well equipped. It was in an ideal location, beautiful walks and only 7 miles from Brighton. The children loved it and we are all looking forward to a return visit. The preserves and lemon drizzle cake were a lovely touch on arrival. Thank you for a very memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: condensation on window above toilet in ensuite in main bedroom drips on you occasionally.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our holiday cottage. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$155
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing