We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, personal, relexed retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barn House Cottage

Cottage with garden for guests' use
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage with garden for guests' use
Open plan lounge/kitchen Newly refurbished lounge furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Cottage with garden for guests' use
Open plan lounge/kitchen
Newly refurbished lounge furniture
Wooden beams with high ceilings and velux windows for a bright and airy room
Cosy double bedroom
Shower room just outside bedroom with new shower
Belaugh (pronounced Beelaah!) village staithe
Ample parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin_Smi...
1 review
“Cosy, personal, relexed retreat”
Reviewed 13 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We had an amazing time at Barn House Cottage, located in such a wonderfully secluded area with beautiful surroundings but still close to towns such as Wroxham. The cottage itself is cosy, warm and well supplied for a self-catering holiday, little touches such as the extra blankets, furnishings and the incredibly detailed folder explaining what's available in the area all made our stay special and we will definitely be returning in the future. A wonderful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C
sudbury suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“splendid”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

everything that you would need for a stay weather a wkend or a month, situated close to norwich and only 5 miles from the park and ride which i chose to do, only £2.40 for the sat, beats car park charges :) there was wi-fi which we connected to but it didnt work, phone signal can be a bit poor in certain areas in and around the cottage but thats no ones fault,
overall a lovely place to chill out and relax. would go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2014
Apologies that the WiFi was not working properly - sometimes it drops out for no known reason. Usually we are around to reset it but, on this occasion, we were away on holiday. So glad you enjoyed your stay despite this and thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Poulton-le-Fylde, Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a week in Norfolk, staying in this lovely barn conversion in Belaugh (pronounced 'Beela').
We have been visiting the Broads fairly regularly since 1954, mostly hiring motor cruisers, but we decided on this occasion to stay in a cottage and hire Day Boats on a couple of days during our stay.
This idea worked perfectly and we had a cosy, comfortable, well equipped home to return to every day.
Belaugh is a delightful 'Conservation Village' steeped in history, with a lovely church and a public staithe, alongside the River Bure, where we spent a lovely sunny afternoon on collapsible chairs borrowed from the cottage, just reading and watching the river traffic and wildlife....gorgeous and so very peaceful!
There is a public footpath just opposite the cottage driveway leading to the staithe (5 mins) and a further path leading through meadows, with grazing cattle, to Coltishall which is another lovely village in which to linger, perhaps at one of the two pubs or on the Common.
It is a great central location from which to cover the Broadland area,including the coast, and super for walkers and for those who might like to wet a line in the nearby rivers.
When we go again we shall consider taking a small boat to launch locally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheer joy of being back in our beloved Norfolk
Liked least: Perhaps the fact that there is no view from the property, but there is a beautiful garden outside the front door.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M
Denham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A lovely little one floor conversion. Perfect for a romantic getaway for two.
We chose not to come by car and found that no problem.
Within easy walking distance along the path across the fields into Coltishall. There we found plenty of pubs, a couple of convenience shops, a well stocked pharmacy and a small butcher shop.
Belaugh itself is a delightful village with access to the river Bure. And the church staithe is a beautiful little place to sit and watch the river go by.
Would recommend this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing