We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$73
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
29
69
22
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
69
22
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2018 via mobile

Room size is of acceptable. Best of it is near train station. Bus stop is right infront of the hotel.

Check in is on the 3rd level. Spacious reception area. Breakfast is simple and tasty. (Japanese breakfast ... they do have sausages)

Bed is comfortable. All hotels we stayed only provide 1 flat pillow per pax. (My travel pillow comes to handy).

Reception is not 24hrs and is open quite late in the morning. So we cant leave our luggage with the reception. There are lockers and is about 700¥ to fit a 25" luggage.

To note: No convenience store nearby. For me is quite a walking distance.

Is a quiet town and we had a nice walk to the end of the bridge for our meals. There is a nice restaurant serving fresh and tasty sashimi. We had all our meals at this place.

Air is clean and is a good place for relaxation.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 December 2018

We stayed two nights in the larger double room. The room and bathroom are large by Japan standards, yet price was reasonable. The lobby is out dated but in a funky way. Seems like 1980s style. Breakfast is not much. The front desk staff are helpful, thought very little English spoken. The over-the-top winner was the dinner which was included in the price of our room. We enjoyed seven course or portions almost kaiseki style dining. I would stay here again and recommend Royal Intelligent to other westerners. Chris from Kansas City.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2018

This hotel is located right beside the Higashi Hagi Railway Station, which is the main station of the town and the long distance buses from cities in the region also stop here. The surrounding area is quite quiet but the main business area of town is not very far and the tourist spots can be reached using the local bus (there are 2 local loop bus routes: the eastern loop has a stop at the Higashi Hagi station, while the nearest stop of the western loop is a few minutes’ walk away across the river).

The room of this hotel is similar to the usual business hotels in other cities, but I feel my twin room is more spacious than in most others. The shower and toilet area are separated. Room facilities and wifi works without any trouble. Standard Japanese breakfast is served in the morning with few items of western taste. Free tea / coffee is available on the drinking machine on each floor.

The check-in staff speaks a bit of English, and hands out a full English information sheet with instructions on remotes to TV & air-con, information of public bath (which I did not use) and other facilities in the hotel, etc. The reception counter is unmanned from around midnight till 10 am. On check-out before 10 am, I instructed to simply drop the room key to the collection box. For baggage storage, there are self-service lockers for use at lobby, which is not free but at a lower rate than in the railway station.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronaldk527
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed with friends for two nights. We had very clean twin rooms with a view to the river, which were a reasonable size with very comfortable beds, good hot shower over a small bath. Very convenient to Higashi Hagi Station. Staff spoke very limited English but that was OK, we couldn't speak any Japanese but we managed. They were very obliging when we were late for breakfast, they were closing, however, they ensured we had something to eat and stayed open for at least 20 minutes. Breakfast was included. We would stay here again should we visit Hagi City.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2017

A mid-range hotel with great location and very large rooms. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. A very nice view from room. The nice clerk at the front desk, waived the charge for an extra pillow(s).

Room tip: Ask for a high floor, facing the ocean.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews