We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
22
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
7
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The Iya Valley has much to offer a visitor seeking out less- travelled rural Japan.
The Kazuraya Hotel is a great place to stay there.
The courtesy and friendliness of the staff is genuine. The traditional cuisine is a delight both in its presentation and content. The dining hall and private dining rooms perfectly complement the food.
The hot spring baths are the best we experienced in Japan, for the combination of the bubbling waters and the views.
The rooms are simple and in keeping with the location. Fine valley views.
Unlike some ryokans where we stayed, our fellow guests were mostly Japanese families which added to the 'authenticity ' and our enjoyment.
Access to the hotel by car can be a little difficult at the Vine Bridge (where there are lots of people during the day) but once past that spot it is peaceful ..

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Located just outside Oboke in the iya valley, home of the 300 year old vine bridges.
This traditional Ryoken, is a great escape from the busy cities of Japan with fantastic staff, traditional meals that were of very good quality using fresh local produce. The area has ample walking trails and breathtaking scenery. A photographer's paradise.
We would highly recommend this place

Room Tip: A smatering of the local language will help as not much english spoken or printed material available
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fishforeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We stayed here a while ago, but I still think fondly on the delicious food, the relaxing indoor and outdoor onsens, the friendly owners, the comfortable rooms, and the abundance of natural beauty. My dearest wish is to visit again. Some day, we will!

I am unsure about internet availability because we traveled without phones or computer -- a truly relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

This is an excellent small ryokan, away from other hotels, but yet very close to the major tourist attraction, the Kazura bridge. We had a very relaxing time but also felt at home. It appears to be ran by a family, who are all friendly and helpful (and who speak their own dialect which makes you feel you are in a different part of Japan). We booked for a most economical option (bedroom, basic dinner, and breadfast) but they gave us a very big room with a beautiful mountain view. The room has a small bathroom but you wouldn't use it since there are great communal baths, both indoor and outdoor. It is not hot spring water but it is still very nice. The outdoor ones have a great mountain view. The dinner was excellent with seasonal and local food. We had ordered an additional beef dish, which was very nice and juicy, but we didn't really need it in terms of the amount of the food. The meals were served in a separate room and we had a room with 'irori' (fire place) to ourselves. The fire was not on but it still added to the experience. After the dinner, we walked to the bridge. Unlike daytime, the street was empty and quiet. This area, Iya, is really beautiful but if you are driving yourselves, it can be quite stressful as the road is very narrow and scary.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pengapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews