We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
56
45
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
45
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews discount coupon local ingredients kaiseki dinner japanese style the river iya valley flag taiwanese assistance schedule drive english station onsen
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We stayed there for 1 night. Room was comfortable, Kaiseki dinner was good, so as the onsen. They appointed a Taiwanese lady to assist us on check in and serving dinner. Following morning after check out, my aunt realised she had lost her ipad. She searched her own belonging and was not able to find it. We wanted to call the hotel which we had stayed the previous night at Kochi city to see if she had left it behind. Due to language problem, we approached Mr Shuji Ohira at reception for assistance. He then called another Taiwanese lady intern Ms Guo Cian Yu to help on translation. After explaining our problem, Mr Shuji Ohira promptly called that hotel to check. He called a total of 3 hotels in different locations, Kochi city, Yusuhara, Tosashimizu and Dogo Onsen, so as to help us locate the ipad. Ms Guo was patiently helping us to translate the message to Mr Shuji. Although the answers were negative, we really appreciate the tremendous assistance rendered by both of them with sincerity. When we offered to pay for the calls, he told us not to do so. They even took down my hotel contact in Takamatsu, in case they had good news for us. We received a courier from Ms Guo at the hotel in Takamatsu on the night before leaving for home. They did follow up on this case.

We really felt that we had received excellent service from the both of you when we were helpless in a foreign land, not able to speak your language and when we needed much help at that moment. Thank you very much to both of you. Best regards

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mannaka_obokekyo, staff GUO at HOTEL Obokekyo Mannaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Wong

Thanks for your reservation and comment.
I feel so bad for that can't found your ipad.
By the way, how was your trip at the next day?
If you guys had a good trip is the best message for us.
Though this trip had some bad things, but hope that you can with different feelings to come again.
We waiting for your coming.
Thank you very much.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Giving it a four staff mainly thanks to the staff and facilities with high hospitality - "Omotenashi" in Japanese. There are also Taiwanese staff stationed to help with Hong Kong and Taiwanese tourists who don't know Japanese. Facilities of the hotel is also not much so they have put pretty much focus on what they can provide in the rooms - speaker for iPhone 6 or above (lightning), universal charger, etc., and many others that can be borrowed from the front desk. They also served us with Japanese tea session when we arrived. Free shuttle is available from the train station. The dinner served was also of high standard and delicious. But other than the rooms and the hot spring, a small souvenir shop, and a group of high quality staff, there is definitely nothing else.

Our experience was on a windy day, the 6-tatami Japanese style room's window has a very annoying wind whistle. The staff was called at 11 pm and managed to change two twin rooms for the three of us nearby - very grateful for his arrangement, but that left a bad image of the 6-tatami Japanese style rooms. The twin rooms were ok but just like a normal business hotel.

P.S. The location is only near the Oboke gorge, worth a see with the affiliated boat trip (discount coupon from the hotel available if you stay there), but nowhere near Iya as a drive or a bus ride is a must. The bus to Iya is also not scheduled well for a return journey - you either stay 30 minutes or four to five hours at the Kazura bridge, so we abandoned the visit.

Room Tip: Never choose the 6-tatami Japanese room during windy days
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ugin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mannaka_obokekyo, Taiwanese Staff at HOTEL Obokekyo Mannaka, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Thank you for the compliment.
I'm Taiwanese staff.We are learning "Omotenashi" in Japan.
And,we want to transfer "Omotenashi" to visitors.
We are glad to help you.
Also,we are glad to help tourists who don't know Japanese.

Thank you for coming.
I hope we will meet again sometime.

Oboke MANNAKA HOTEL Staff Tsai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

This was our second choice at the iya onsen was full. Japanese style room without own bathroom was spacious but the lighting was awful and cold. The building is old and very ugly. Staff were amazing and super helpful and friendly but we felt robbed by paying €1000 for just two nights for two with breakfast and dinner. You bathe in the hot springs downstairs butt naked with the other guests so you have to like it. Very japanese. Good place but we paid too much, they have a bit of a monopoly in this amazing Iya valley area.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Frederiminvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mannaka_obokekyo, 支配人 at HOTEL Obokekyo Mannaka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your staying. We are sorry about what you wrote, and we are going to solve those problems in order to make guests comfortable.
We appreciate your comment and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Well located on side of the river Iya, next of the bridge. Across the street The is the departure terminal for the river cruise. We had half board Japanese styled room. The building from the outside looks awful. You arrive and your name and country flag are welcoming you. The hotel is dated and any feel of lucera fails, however the unbelievably friendly staff makes your stay unforgettable. The onsen indoor as well as outdoors is nice. The restaurant serves good meals. At departure the staff escorted us out to the car where they waved us goodbye with our own national flag. Not cheap, 2 nights, 2 persons half board at €1.000.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank minvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mannaka_obokekyo, Taiwanese staff at HOTEL Obokekyo Mannaka, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thank you for you sent this email for us !

just like you sayed ,our Hotel is from the outside looks awful,but we is being follow up for the insade All equipment ,so we are very happy to know you thinking how do you feel our Hotel.

And about the country flag ,we want make guests arrived our Hotel can feel as comfortable as like come back to home,also our Hotel is bulided around village,so our service is not bester like the other Hotel in city ,so can hear you say this we are very honored.

We look forward to serving you again!

Hotel MANNAKA




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at mannaka hotel n enjoyed my one night with them. The Japanese staff are extremely helpful n am really fortunate to meet two lovely Taiwanese ladies working there.

My wife left her locket in the room n only realised it when we are in kojima, which is like a two hour drive away. We called the hotel n it was delivered to Osaka the next day. I'm extremely grateful for their help.

Thank you n I would certainly recommend mannaka hotel to my friends.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank xxxzzzxxx99alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mannaka_obokekyo, MANNAKA HOTEL Taiwaness staff. at HOTEL Obokekyo Mannaka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Hi,SIR

Thank you for your reservation and stayed at the MANNAKA HOTEL.
How are you and your family?
And if you and your family have a time welcome to MANNAKA HOTEL.
May the joy and the happiness around you today or always.
We are all very thank you so much for yours.
Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews