We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel. Nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels / Ryokan in Itoman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I went to Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa in August 2017.
I loved hotel.
The crew was very helpful and nice.
There are two swimming pool, one very big outside and other insert, with a SPA. We were with a girl 2,5 years old and this features helped us a lot.
The beach in front of other was very good and very close.
Our room was beach view. Amazing!
The hotel location was very quite, even daytime. At time we could listen sea noise.
To go to Naha was not easy, however, always when I need, there was a taxi in the main entrance.
The restaurants were very good.
Most crew in hotel speak english.

Room Tip: Beach View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fabio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbhr, 支配人 at Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you for staying at southern beach hotel & resort okinawa.
さっそくのスタッフへのお褒めの言葉、大変うれしく存じます。
お客様のお言葉がスタッフのモチベーションにも繋がっております。
ありがとうございます。
弊ホテル自慢のガーデンプールやインドアプールではご満足いただけて
幸いでございます。
2階エントランスではタクシーの待機車もございます。
時間帯によっては待機のない場合もございますが
時間指定にてご予約も承ります。
これからも切磋琢磨し日々、努力して参ります。
We sincerely look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

It was nice staying there, service is excellent but What I found there is not much to see around and you have to go quite far go get good eateries or sight seeing that means you pay a lot for taxi, Good for people who wants to stay inside hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbhr, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for staying at Southern Beach Hotel & Resort okinawa.
弊ホテルやスタッフへのお褒めの言葉、大変うれしく存じます。
那覇空港から20分の場所にございます。ホテルから車で10分かからない所には、沖縄料理のお店が沢山ございます。今後もサービス向上に最善の努力をしていく所存でございます。
We sincerely look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile


Dear Sir

Hope this mail finds you're well.
I'm planning to do the reservation at your hotel from 18 October to 20 October for 2 nights.
It is my fiance' s birthday on the first day we stay, 18 october ~

And im planning to surprised him, here are few questions ^_^

1) I would like to have double bed and without the cupboard between the beds, which room type I should choice?
2) Is the ocean view room is better than harbour view room for sunset?
3) What kind of the facilities in premium club lounge?
4) I would like to arrange a romantic dinner to celebrate my fiance's birthday in 18 october, any restaurant you recommend?
5) is free packing available at Southern beach hotel?

Million Thanks
Coco


從我的 iPad 傳送

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CocoPpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbhr, マネージャー at Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you very much for your comments.
We just answer as bellow.
1) Unfortunately, we do not have a double bed room. Plese serect Hollywood Twin room. The beds combine them up.

2) Recommend "ocean view" for sunset time.

3) The Premium Club Lounge, open from 7AM to 11PM. Include breakfast, tea time and Happy hour cocktail time.

4) Recommend "Southern Terrace Restaurant" with your romantic dinner.
If you need a "Birthday Cake", we also order the cake 3-days in advance.

5) Free of charge for guests.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Everything in this hotel can rival the best of hotel chains, everything is available, the reception is grand enough, friendly staff, and honestly one of the only resorts in Okinawa that has a decent translator at hand.

Mr Kuniyuki Ochi is one of the rooms director there, and he provides excellent service and is courteous. with him in charge I am sure this hotel will be on the up and up.

Will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Get to the breakfast venue earlier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChanJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbhr, 支配人 at Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for staying at Southern Beach Hotel & Resort okinawa.
弊ホテルやスタッフへのお褒めの言葉、大変うれしく存じます。
お客様のお言葉は励みにも糧にもなります。
お客様の貴重なお言葉をいつまでも忘れることなく
今後もサービス向上に最善の努力をしていく所存でございます。
We sincerely look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We're vacationing in Okinawa with a two-year-old, making a two-night stop at this hotel hoping to get some rest close to the airport, but what we experienced irked us so much that even I who rarely writes reviews can't resist the urge.

In summary, this hotel is not designed for guests. The details reflect the owner and operators blatant disregard for its guests. In fact, I surmise that the owner probably made the investment based on some Excel projections and rarely visited the actual hotel. I almost want to use this as a classic case study to teach my employees how not to run a business.

Here are its top ten failures:

1. If breakfast is included, then the guests don't need physical tickets; they can just tell the host their room number and last names (just like what they do at ANA International or every other hotel). Then they seated us at a table and left a "bill" with our room number. This is definitely a process that can be optimized and streamlined.

2. If parking is free for guests, why issue tickets at the gate and make the guests stamp the tickets to waive the charge? This is a very remote location so I doubt anyone would take advantage of its free parking, especially when free parking spaces are in ample supply in the area. Even if people happen to take advantage of free parking, let them and sell them food and drinks since it'd be a very long walk to any nearby restaurants / offices. Again, this is an absolutely useless step that adds no value to the user experience. They probably read on a textbook somewhere that you should outsource parking management and take a commission, but that only works in good locations!

3. The outdoor swimming pool obviously is for kids but why doesn't it have smaller steps and a shallower area? Not every kid is above 1.5 meters.

4. They explicitly told me at check-in that the towels are free to pick up at the locker room, but when I found the locker room (after 10 minutes of searching since there are no signs), they told me to pick up the towels at the side of the pool. And the towels are pink! What were they thinking?

5. The pool again. They wouldn't let you wear slippers into the indoor pool area, which is weird because you could wear them by the poolside outside. Then the locker room connects to the lobby but the guests would be bare-feet so they're going to have to walk back inside, put on their slippers, and take a huge detour to go back upstairs.

6. Why are pool guests made to walk across the front of the lobby to get to the elevator bay (which again is not obvious at all) when they're dripping wet? Even if this is the intended imagery the hotel wants to project to arriving guests, that's awkward for the swimmers.

7. Why put a high end restaurant and take up all the space right next to the pool when it is quite apparent that it's way too high end, formal, and expensive for the pool guests (as evidenced by its emptiness during dinner time). Provide burgers and fun, family-friendly food at reasonable prices so it'd be filled up.

8. Traditional Okinawan music is great. But not for the pool setting. At the pool, guests want to have fun so play Taylor Swift or any pop station for that matter (and don't tell me that's an Okinawan thing because ANA Intercontinental plays great pop music by its poolside).

9. There's a canteen by the poolside that sells snacks and drinks, which is great, but why must the guests finish their food and beverages at the designated table area and not at the lounge chairs by the pool? This is another example of how the hotel blatantly disregards the experience of its users.

10. Everything is in Japanese when they know that many guests are from Korea, China, Hong Kong and other places. I had to translate the many slips they gave me at check-in with the Google Translate app (must-have for traveling). Coupons and instructions won't be used unless the guests can read them. It's not rocket science.

If this were a publicly listed company, I'd make a windfall shorting its stock. If you're the owner or operator of the hotel, please put your heart and mind into improving your customer experience. You owe it to your customers, employees, shareholders, and yourself to do better.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Chi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbhr, 支配人 at Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for staying at Southern Beach Hotel & Resort okinawa.
初めに貴重なご意見ありがとうございます。
お客様のご意見は私共ホテルにとってはサービス向上やハード面の見直しに
関してとても大切にしております。
お客様の立場になって物事を考えたり何かを作り上げていく事は容易では
ありませんが、このようなコメントをいただけるととても参考になり
スタッフ間の意識向上にも繋がります。
これからも日々努力しホテルのサービス向上に尽力して参ります。
We sincerely look forward to serving you again.
 宿泊支配人

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itoman
9 km away
ANA Crowne Plaza Okinawa Harborview
22.8 km away
Vessel Hotel Campana Okinawa
23.1 km away
Hilton Okinawa Chatan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.9 km away
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
32.1 km away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
36.4 km away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa

Address: 1-6-1 Nishizakicho, Itoman 901-0306, Okinawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Itoman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels / Ryokan in Itoman
Price Range: €101 - €340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Beach Hotel & Resort Okinawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Beach Hotel And Resort
Southern Beach Hotel Itoman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing