We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/05/22
Agoda.com
US$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/05/22
Booking.comUS$84
Hotels.comUS$103
Orbitz.comUS$103
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
12
14
14
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
14
14
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Sanyoso is a lovely pilgrim hotel and onsen situated right on the beach that really doesn't deserve its second place rating (pity the more famous cousin up the hill). The staff here are amazing and really go out of their way to help their guests, especially the manager.

I arrived at Sanyoso rather unknowingly too late for dinner (dinner ends at 7:30, drinks at 8:00), at which point the manager took it upon himself to drive me to town so I could pick up a meal at the convenience store. An exceedingly kind act that I am forever grateful for.

The hotel itself has a mixture of Japanese and Western rooms, and the choice between beach and mountain views. Both are exceedingly good options. I chose the beach option and do not regret it for a moment. The sunrise over the beach was beautiful and a great way to start the day.

The onsen itself is well appointed with both indoor and outdoor baths. Sitting in the outdoor onsen at night and looking at the lanterns was very relaxing, if a little hot for the time of year I went! The onsen is open both in the morning and late into the evening and the rooms change quite frequently so you get to see both sides.

Getting there: If you are taking public transport catch the Y6 bus from Kochi and get off at second last stop (at the giant bridge). You will then need to walk about two kilometres along a picturesque coastline. Its not a hard walk. Alternatively you could drive or catch a taxi.

Even though I couldn't do any of the outdoor activities I had planned to do, I would highly recommend this hotel. Its clean, friendly and has great food. Its also only a short walk to temple number 36 if you are doing the Shikoku 88 temple walk.

If you are doing the 88 temple walk then I suggest stopping here for a few days to recharge.

Room tip: You won't go wrong with your choice of mountain or beach views
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piper O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a very relaxing ryokan. Service is very friendly and food is wonderful. If you do not have the chance to stay here then you can experience the great food in the restaurant next door which is owned by the same people. Additionally you can experience the onsen in the ryokan as a day visitor. However dinner in the evening here is truly delicious. This part of Japan is famous for its bonito.

Room tip: Stayed in a room overlooking the garden which was very quiet and peaceful. However I think that all rooms will be lovely.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison298184
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews