We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Base for Exploring Kinosaki”
Review of Tsutaya Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tsutaya Ryokan
Ranked #55 of 144 Hotels / Ryokan in Toyooka
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights here and loved it! The ryokan is situated on one of the main streets in town and within a five minute walk of three of the seven public bath houses in town including our favorite...Goshono-yu.

We do not speak Japanese and most of the staff does not speak English but one of the owners does speak excellent English and she was always available to answer our questions either in person or over the phone if she was not around.

Our room was spacious including a small sitting area overlooking the street. There was a toilet en suite and the shared bath+onsen was more than adequate. The room also included a TV but no English channels. Even though it was December the heat worked great in the room.

The best part of the our stay was the elaborate meals we were provided in our rooms. Dinner the first night was a traditional Japanese spread that consisted of multiple courses/plates and the second night was a crab feast cooked at our table since crab was in season at the time. Breakfast both mornings was not quite as extravagant but equally as delicious and filling.

There is a free shuttle that leaves from the train station that will take you to your ryokan regardless of where you are staying and upon departure the staff at Tsutaya gave us a ride to the train station free of charge.

Overall a great experience and would recommend this place 100%.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrickfoster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed here in the first week of January for 1 night. It had been snowing for a week when we arrived so it made for a wonderful onsen experience. There is a shuttle serving different ryokans from the station, so even though the ruokan was a 10-15 minute walk from the station it was not an issue

The staff were friendly and one of the ladies (I think the owners wife) spoke fluent English. Our request for vegetarian breakfast was met readily and it was a good spread with soup, salad etc. There were some other guests when we were here but the place did not feel crowded, in fact we came upon a couple of them only at the time of check out.

We did not have dinner here nor try the in house bath so cannot comment on these.

There is a nice waiting area /lobby on the ground floor overlooking a small garden- which looked pretty in the snow. The room was typical Japanese style room and had an attached toilet.It was clean and well maintained. The ryokan is walking distance from the public baths in town - the closest being Mandara yu. Staying in the ryokans in town entitles you to a free pass to visit the public baths- each pass is valid till 10 am next day so if you are checking out on any particular day and want to use the baths for free, make sure you enter before 10.

When we cheked out the staff dropped us off at the station in the ryokans car. This was our first snow time onsen experience so we really enjoyed it

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Ai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ykh27991823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: リピーターになる事が大事と思います。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kuru_pepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toyooka hotels
Kinosaki Onsen
Yamamotoya
Yamamotoya
#8 of 144 in Toyooka
102 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Kobayashiya Kinosaki
Kobayashiya Kinosaki
#32 of 144 in Toyooka
19 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Sennen-no Yu Koman
Sennen-no Yu Koman
#50 of 144 in Toyooka
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinosaki Onsen
Mikuniya Ryokan
Mikuniya Ryokan
#4 of 144 in Toyooka
88 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Kawaguchiya Riverside Hotel
Kawaguchiya Riverside Hotel
#11 of 144 in Toyooka
60 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Tokiwa Annex
Tokiwa Annex
#13 of 144 in Toyooka
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsutaya Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsutaya Ryokan

Address: 485 Yushima, Kinosakicho, Toyooka 669-6101, Hyogo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Toyooka > Kinosaki Onsen
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Toyooka
Price Range: €137 - €375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsutaya Ryokan 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tsutaya Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsutaya Ryokan Japan/Toyooka, Hyogo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing