We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“luxurious peace and quiet with a bonus of good...”
Badger Set, Luxury Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badger Set, Luxury Lodge
Large 4 person hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Badger Set, Luxury Lodge
Large 4 person hot tub
King size chunky bed
Trendy wet room
The Lodges
Dinner Party
Breakfast
One of the many lovely shots of the lake
View from the bank closest to the lodges
One of our glorious sunsets
Morning mist
Another beautiful season
Tranquil lake side shot
A cold day, quickly return to the log burner
Sunset over the Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
March, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
battersea...
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“luxurious peace and quiet with a bonus of good fishing.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great time here. We stayed Monday to Friday and were thrilled with the accommodation. The walk-in shower and wet room was amazing, the leather settees were very luxurious, the breakfast bar ideal and the bed very comfortable. However, the icing on the cake was the verandah with the hot tub which was truly wonderful. The outside furniture was lovely and made enjoying the peace, quiet and scenery such a pleasure. I would suggest a parasol would be good to give some shade as it got very hot. However, for me the hot tub was what I was most looking forward to and it didn't disappoint. Such a thrill sitting there as the sun was setting with my wine glass in hand. For my husband the fishing was his thing and he hadn't fished for years and this was a good way of letting us both have a holiday doing our own thing but together. The one thing which tied it all together was the fact that we could take our dogs with us as we wouldn't have come otherwise so please if you bring your dog, leave the lodge as you would expect to find it so other people can continue to bring their dogs on holiday too. Thank you Fields End Water. Sue and Ian Watts. Badger Set

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, quiet and privacy
Liked least: When we got soaked to our underwear, fishing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. And a very well made point about the dogs, if all dog owners were respectful, I am sure there would be much more dog friendly accommodation out there.
See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place however...”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Booked Rabbit Burrow on a whim and it is a beautiful lodge however we were very disappointed with quite a few things regarding the cleanliness. When we book a lodge anywhere we always choose 'the best' and they have always been spotlessly clean and I'm sorry to say this did not come up to scratch.

The French windows had not been cleaned, the fridge (freezer compartment) needs cleaning and defrosting and the ice cube tray emptying and cleaning, the kitchen cupboards need cleaning inside and the sink was in a dirty state (needs a good bleaching), the cupboard under the sink and the drain need looking at because the smell was horrid.

The bathroom was very nice however, again attention to detail needed. The vanity unit needs a good clean inside and out together with the heated towel rail.

The bedroom was clean part from a huge cobweb over the door (not done in a day) but the pillows need replacing urgently as they were so hard I awoke with a headache each morning and one had a large tear in it. Also there were no pillow protectors! Duvet cover torn about 6 inches (down the seam) at the top. (Could do with a chest of drawers).

The weather has been beautiful but couldn't sit on the verandah as there was no parasol so you could maybe think about supplying them in the lodges.

We have never stayed anywhere with so many "strictly" rules either. I purchased the wifi however that was such a waste as the e-mails wouldn't open anyway.

On a lighter note the site is very well kept and apparently (according to my husband) the fishing is fantastic and he would like to return for that. I would have thought that if you were renting a lodge on this site that the fishing would not have to be paid for but would be included or at least a concession.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave the review.
I will look into this situation as soon as possible, (which will be Friday when the present guests vacate), we have had two other guests in the lodge since and they have not given the same feedback, otherwise we would have look into the situation earlier. If you only had alerted us to your issues on arrival, we could have rectified the problem immediately.
It is very clear on our website and on other sites we advertise on that the fishing isn't included in the price, we also advertise the fishing prices, and there IS a concession for residents and even cheaper for resident OAP's. I am glad your husband had a great time fishing and you thought the lodge and site was lovely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Week of peace and quiet”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in January 2014

we stayed at the badger set at the beginning of january as a birthday getaway for my partner. Was a perfect location for visiting Ely and Cambridge.

brilliant site with plenty of walks for us and the dog. all in all perfect, have no faults or complaints.

Very modern accomodation and could not be faulted, so much that we are staying again at the beginning of september (with fishing tackle this time) and also looking at january again next year.

quite begrudgingly wrote this review because i dont want anyone else knowing about this little gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot-tub!!
Liked least: maybe wifi to be extended to inside the lodges
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2014
No problem Richard, thanks for the review and don't worry, your secret is safe with me!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraFul...
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The most fabulous, romantic weekend retreat!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend and it was amazing. Such a beautiful place, friendly and fantastic value for money. The lodges are so well decorated and the added bonus of a hot tub made it an incredible 3 days. Will be booking again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you for a lovely review, we are glad you had a great time, and look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denisemel...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Relax in Luxury”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break with my husband. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Charlie who is so friendly and explained everything that we needed to know. The lodge is gorgeous and has a real cosy feel and you can't help but relax. The hot tub was the icing on the cake at the end of the day of sightseeing or just walking. if you are looking for tranquility and lovely scenery then look no further than the Badgers Set .....I guarantee you won't be disappointed. A must is a visit to Ely and Cambridge to see the colleges. Thank you once again we hope to come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review and to also recommend what there is to do in the area, I hope that other guests take your advice, Ely is a lovely small city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$78
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing