We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
62
90
27
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
90
27
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rabbit reception area prefecture bunny island baths accommodation onsen hiroshima
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2015

This hotel is the only hotel on Ohkunoshima, or bunny island. We enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly and some of them speak a little English. The restaurant buffet has a wide variety of tasty food, including vegetarian choices, but they are not labeled in English so it may be hard to tell what they are. They provide free bicycles so you can ride around the small island and feed the bunnies. There are also plaques describing the remnants of World War II on the island. If you plan to feed the rabbits, be aware that they do not sell rabbit food at the hotel, so be sure to buy some before you board the ferry. The store that sells the ferry tickets also sells rabbit food. There will be a bus to take you to the hotel when the ferry lands. The public baths are nice but are not labeled in English; women's bath is on the left with the red sign, and men's bath has a blue sign.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TGH56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We enjoyed our two nights here, our room overlooked the sea and the front of the hotel - we were able to watch bunnies from the window. The onsen was basic but pleasant (be aware that male / female are marked only with Japanese symbols and colours - red for ladies).

Lots of choice at breakfast and dinner, food was decent although not amazing. The restaurant is also open for lunch, and there's a cafe too, with Japanese only menu but the staff have some basic English to help you out.

The rooms were slightly dated but also clean, comfortable and well looked after. No shower or bath in the room which is a shame. Some shared areas e.g. the lift, are a little grubby but probably to be expected when people are constantly stepping in bunny poo.

No bunny food sold here, buy pellets at the port or even better buy cabbages etc. from Hiroshima or another large town on your way.

There is also effectively no internet - technically there is a wifi network in the lobby but it seemed to appear for about five minutes each evening and then disappear again.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikehippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014

After we took a few wrong turns after Hiroshima, we finally made it to "Bunny Island" about 1700 on a Sunday evening. Since it was late, we decided to spend the night here to enjoy more time with the bunnies and take the ferry back in the morning. The helpful manager at the ferry terminal in Tadanoumi called ahead to book our room for us (thank you!) after we tried calling and were told there were no rooms available for the night. There is free overnight parking next to the ferry terminal.

I agree with the other reviewers that the hotel and grounds are quite run down. However, our room and the restaurant were very clean. The staff is very friendly and while our Japanese is extremely limited, they tried to help as much as they could. The island is really beautiful in the evenings and not as crowded, so I'm glad we stayed the night. It cost about $220 US for two adults and one child, including dinner and breakfast. Visa is accepted.

Tip #1 Bring your own bunny food! I thought we could buy food on the island, but that is not the case anymore. Thankfully, we brought lettuce and carrots. Other families brought cabbage, hay and pellets. The rabbits really enjoyed the pellets, but it was more fun to feed them carrots and lettuce because you could hold the food in your hand while they ate.

We had dinner at the restaurant and we all enjoyed the buffet. The price was included in our room stay, but drinks like beer, sake or soda are extra. For kids, there is noodles, rice, fruit, vegetables and ice cream and a chocolate fountain - yum. Dinner is served between 1730 and 2000. There is a café at the hotel, too, but we didn't try it during our stay.

Tip #2 After dinner, we noticed a group gathering in the lobby. We asked a few questions and got some puzzling answers so we decided to follow along when they were led to a classroom off the lobby. Turns out that a hotel staff member gives a lecture about these very tiny luminescent fish, which look like sea monkeys and live in the water near the island. We couldn't understand any of the lecture, but a very kind women translated most of the information for us. At the end of the lecture, the lights are dimmed and an electric charge (?) is applied to the water and the fish glow. My daughter loved it and so did we. Afterwards, we ran into a couple from California and told them about the lecture - they were so interested we found the staff member and she provided another demonstration for us! (Just one example of the very friendly staff at the hotel!)

We had to make up our futons for the night even though the brochure stated that the hotel would do so during dinner. Also, some reviewers complained that there was no air conditioning. We had air conditioning in our room, but we had to turn it on using the controls near the television. Also, the room has a private bathroom, but showers are down the hall.

Tip #3 There is a small refrigerator in the room. Good for keeping drinks cold. You could also keep yogurt cold for breakfast the following morning, if you had planned ahead.

My daughter and I decided to try the large onsen after dinner. Apparently, there is also a small onsen on the opposite side of the hotel, but I'm not sure what the difference is. The red curtain designates "women" and blue is for "men." Do bring your own towel (from your room) for washing before and drying after, but the hotel provides soap, shampoo, and conditioner. There are also hair dryers in the locker room. There were only a few women there when we visited and they have small seats available for children and babies, too.

Breakfast is served from 7:30 to 9:00. We didn't enjoy breakfast as much as dinner, but there is rice, croissants, scrambled eggs and a variety of other Japanese breakfast foods.

After breakfast and before check-out, we rented bikes from the front desk. The children's bikes have been well used and we had to try several different ones before we found one that was working well enough for our daughter to use. The island is very small and it's easy to explore either by foot or bike. If we'd have more time, we would have walked to the light house and up to the highest point on the island.

We enjoyed our stay. My daughter loves bunnies, so of course we had to visit "Bunny Island." If you are not an animal-lover or not interested in the historical aspect of the island, then this island would probably be a disappointment for you.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank khakola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

the only hotel on bunny island and the last ferry to the station is 19:00, so worth staying at the hotel to experience the island for longer. Staff spoke very little english. The room was traditional Japanese, where you had to make the bed up yourself and share a public bath. The dinner and breakfast had lots of variety. Rooms were fairly clean but expensive for one night at £150. It was great to stay out until late on the island and chill with the bunnies so worth the money for that alone. The island itself was quite rundown though.

Date of stay: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katehead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you want to stay on Okhunoshima Island this is the only hotel there. The rooms are traditional ryokan-style but have a toilet inside. Bath is public. There are different plans for the hotelstay, I chose the dinner+breakfast. If you have no other choise than staying in this area, this hotel is quite OK.

PRO (+)
- Friendly Staff
- Big room
- Restaurant and food is OK (but crowded)
- Bicycle rental
- Free Bus from Ferry
- Bunnys everywhere

CON (-)
- Used and old - They really could paint the walls
- No inroom WiFi (only Lobby)
- They did not make my bed (normally they do) - So I moved the table, got the bed out of the closet and covered it all by myself...
- You can hear your neighbours
- Dusty aircon
- Dinner and Breakfast too early for me
- Quite expensive

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank where_is_at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews