We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$136
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mamma e Papa(Ojochal)(Great Value!)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Hotel Tangara Azul(Ojochal)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diquis Del Sur(Ojochal)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$327
US$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Mono Feliz(Ojochal)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phidjie Lodge(Ojochal)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
146
69
16
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
69
16
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricathe rooms were nicefresh fruitpeaceful placetropical stormexcellent jobinsect repellentexcellent viewother guestsincluded breakfast isgreat oceanfabulous breakfastgardens are beautifulenjoyed our stayaccommodating staffread a bookview of the ocean
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Only stayed a single night in this hotel on the way to the Osa Peninsula, but it deserved more time ...

The location and gardens are beautiful, with lots of bird life and butterflies. The pool was welcome bonus on a hot afternoon.

We enjoyed great views over the ocean from our bungalow at the front The room was compact and comfortable. We appreciated the fresh flowers and speedy wi fi upload/downloads. It was a shame, that in an environmentally friendly establishment, cups and spoons were not available for coffee making in the room. There was a single use plastic stirrer, creamer and paper cups, which did not fit with up market ambience of the hotel. Also, there was some traffic noise from the road below.

Breakfast (fresh fruit, a cooked dish and juice) was tasty.

We also appreciated the efficient reception staff, helping with the on-line booking and our taxi transfers.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Worksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

The staff did an absolutely excellent job under some really unusual circumstances. The only hurricane or tropical storm to hit the area in the last 500 years happened while we were there. The staff didn’t miss miss a beat and everything was fantastic highly recommend it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

The rooms were nice, good WiFi, the one we stayed had an amazing ocean view! The restaurant is great. And is a pet friendly hotel!! The staff is very friendly and always ready to recommend the best beaches around and other restaurants!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank carlos8713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsaJohn, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Saludos Carlos,
Playa Tortuga is just the beginning of 9 nearby, distinctive beaches! You can visit a different type of beach every day. From Caves and Sand, Secluded, Lifeguard, Rock Beaches, and more. We hope you are making plans to return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Quiet pleasant relaxing get away. Private bungalows looking at ocean.
Just the right amount of attention to details. Simple and elegant. Unobtrusive staff. The best of gardens and local fauna. Would recommend to friends and return myself.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Margotcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsaJohn, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Saludos Margot!
I am so glad you enjoyed the gardens. Our gardener has been with the hotel for most of his life -- truly a labor of love. We appreciate your willingness to recommend Hotel Lookout and stay in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

The Hotel Lookout continues to impress me after my third recent visit. In addition to the excellent regular service and great food, the staff was challenged to keep the hotel running during a severe tropical storm which coincided with my trip. They showed impressive concern for the safety and comfort of the guests, as well as neighbors in the community. Such spirit earned my loyalty for all future trips to the area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank allenl178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsaJohn, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Greetings Allen,
We appreciate your continuing patronage! Life in the jungle is always an adventure. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews