We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
239
21
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
21
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo room live music owners john costa rica nightly entertainment private balcony watching the birds the pacific ocean pleasure of staying the breakfast area fish and chips three nights awesome place would highly recommend this hotel cr coffee great night relaxing place
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

we ventured south of Manuel de Antonio to find Alma de Ojochal. Its that exciting driving in Costa Rica like am I really going to find my destination. We did. There were signs and dirt roads and then we arrived and found a beautiful room and a beautiful pool and beautiful vistas. From our porch I saw monkeys, a toucan, other beautiful birds. I would want to live here. The restaurant is great food and friendly staff and good music. The owners are lovely and immediately feel like friends. This was the highlight of our two week stay. Beautiful beaches nearby, the staff can advise you where to go.

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank jodythegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The Alma De Ojochal is one of the most wonderful places to stay in Costa Rica. From the comfy king beds, the amazing views, delicious breakfast, to the fantastic hosts. You couldn't ask for more. But wait, there is more........attached is the Bamboo Room Bar and Restaurant which provides delicious food and the best nightly live entertainment you could ask for. Get up and dance or sing along, it is so much fun!! If there is one place in Costa Rica you have to visit, the Alma De Ojochal is the place! Just can't say enough good things about this sweet boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MikeM9546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

John and Janet were amazing hosts! We stayed in room 3 and sat on the patio in the morning listening to the ocean where toucans flew right up to the tree next to our room! The amenities were clean and comfortable. You get two options for breakfast (a more tico fare of eggs, rice and beans with tortillas or an american fare of eggs and bacon with toast). The ride up to their hotel is a very nice smooth road and there is a nice breeze to cool you off from the hot sun unlike some other hotels on the main road. We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank creaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Simply amazing from the moment we stepped foot on the property until we left after our delicious complimentary breakfast. We stayed at several different hotels during our visit to Costa Rica and this hotel was far the best! Can not recommend it enough. Spectacular view of the sunset, great rooms and restaurant and fabulous hosts! This is a boutique hotel set away on the top of a cliff.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

The Alma is everything it promises and more! The location is fantastic. The views from all the rooms are amazing, the rooms themselves are just perfect. The grounds are impeccable, I can't say anything but wonderful things about this property!

Room Tip: the top floors probably have the best views from the balcony but I don't think there is a bad room in the place!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews