We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
165
88
37
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
88
37
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publive musiclangoustinesroaring firegreat atmospherefish and chipsan evening mealvenisonwelcoming staffstunning locationpuddingbeautiful areareal alewell worth a visitexcellent foodkippersate here
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Staff very helpful, special mention for Iona - lovely warm and accommodating staff member made us feel looked after. Attended a function which was arranged by the Inn - music, food, staff and cake all very good, except they did frequently whisk away any glass left unattended (and provided by the party-giver) before we had a chance to finish them. Stayed in a room where the beds were awful, but lovely views over dual aspects and separated from the noise of any function by a little garden. Overpriced accommodation without a doubt at £110 per night - in need of refurbishment in our experience. Tea and coffee provided in room. No internet reception, no TV. Views wonderful, walks great, atmosphere amazing, car park good. Little shop and post office but unsure if open at weekend. To be fair, owner told us some refurbishment was due to begin.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Goldenboots_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

The room was very nice (more than enough space, especially for two people) and the bed one of the most comfortable we had during the entire two-week trip. As we were headed over to Skye on the Glenelg-Kylerhea ferry, the location was perfect and absolutely beautiful (despite the rain). Dinner in the pub was excellent (langoustines and crab claws) and loved the cozy atmosphere.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lizo572017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Dinner for 4 in the pub. Two fish cake dinners were excellent--lots of real fish. Two venison burgers were okay, but not great. Good beer selection. Tables were close together so hard to talk. Service was spotty--one order was forgotten. The bill was written incorrectly--if I hadn't caught it we would have paid 11.50 GBP too much.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TriRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Whilst staying in the lovely village of Glenelg we frequented the Glenelg Inn a few times. Each time we found a very warm welcome. Good choice of beers and spirits.
We also ate here and the food was excellent with a good choice of menu.
Sandra Macbeth and Lorna Thomas provided some live music which was excellent.
would fully recommend the Glenelg Inn

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank NealeandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Afraid to say that we were disappointed with our visit to this pub. Before we had sat down we were being asked if we wanted to see the wine menu (which I'm told is rather expensive). Once seated, we were informed that the menu was near the door which we'd entered through. I duly went to take photos of the menu (how difficult is it to simply print off a menu daily for a small pub?)! My husband asked what lagers were on tap, waitress didn't really know for sure so had to check. Service on the whole was tepid, not what one would expect from the only pub/restaurant in the village. To be fair, they allow dogs which was a plus for us. The soup was delicious but all of the other starters were over £7 which was extortionate, considering that we were practically knocking elbows with fellow diners, the tables were that close together.
Main courses were acceptable but not good value for money at £14 per meal (sausages and mash, haddock and "hand cut"? Chips ) We are here for another week; had the prices been realistic we would have patronised this place several times, however after being presented with a bill for almost £50 for two starters, two mains and two drinks (one water!) this seemed to be a blatant excuse for capitalising on being the only pub in the village. We'll be driving further afield for the rest of the week.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews