We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
10
21
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
21
8
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2014

coming back here.
It´s a nice old place in the middle of town.
Rooms are nice and clean, but make sure that you get a room in the main building.
The pub is a very special place and the restaurant serves good food.
Prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ellwangen is slightly off the main tourist trail (thank God) but very close to the A7 Autobahn. I discovered it and the Roter Ochsen many years ago on the way from Italy to Northern Germany. On my most recent visit, I noticed many changes, including a pedestrianised town centre which makes for a very pleasant and relaxing environment.
Ellwangen was and is a major episcopal seat; the prince bishops were very powerful in Swabia and the town retains many splendid ecclesiastical buildings.
The family-owned Roter Ochsen Hotel is central, its front door leading right to the pedestrianised town centre. The main building is hundreds of years old but a new modern extension has been built at the rear, with an underground car park. Our room was in the new building, spacious and well-appointed and spotlessly clean. An ample breakfast was served in the main building, with hot and cold choices. Some patrons were clearly businessmen but there were also private (mostly) German guests, for the weekend.
I can recommend both Ellwangen and the Roter Ochsen. We had our bicycles with us and there is plenty of choice for good cycling routes in the area, often with challenging hills. In May, the area was fairly quiet. Ellwangen is also a good base for other regional sights, such as the Porsche and Mercedes museums in Stuttgart, the medieval town of Dinkelsbuhl and the Swabian Alps.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelWinnerRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We found this hotel thru the Flair Hotel book which is an association of hotel/breweries. The hotel itself is average and a bit tattered at the edges. The evening we stayed the temperatures have been in the 90s and the hotel lacks air conditioning. This was a bit uncomfortable from my American perspective. We sated on a Monday and the restaurant was closed. Apparently the brewery is in another location. The breakfast was included in the reasonable room price. The hotel lacked the wow factor, but the location is great. It sits at the end of the a 4-5 block pedestrian only shopping/restaurant city center area. The buildings are well-maintained and in use with some dating back to 1300. The area seemed as if it was used more by the locals as opposed to a tourist destination. The area had many walking trails which highlighted a number of beautiful homes. Adjacent to the city is a castle and a monastery both worth a visit. Ellwangen was a pleasant surprise. If I traveled to Ellwangen again, I'd try a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazmansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Our second visit to this place didn´t disappoint us.
In the middle of town with a private garage has a
feeling of welcome all over it.
It is the kind of hotel where you can easily stay for
a few nights while exploring Ellwangen and the area around.
The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and pleasant
and there is very little outside noice.
Also, the restaurant serves good mainly traditional food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I spent here 4 nights for business in June, 2012.
I had a double room which was very big, clean and comfortable. It did not have brand new furniture nor fridge or kettle, but there was a big wardrobe, a roomy bathroom and a "living-space corner".
The entrance to the rooms is through a very pleasant sort of living room with glazed ceiling, where an internet hot spot could be used. It was a very nice place for waiting for other people in the morning.
Breakfast was very good: not too much choice, but good quality.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the city centre so all the rooms are quiet. I think all the rooms are almost the same.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews