We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruhetag, Ruhetag”
Review of Roter Ochsen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roter Ochsen
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ellwangen
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We like this hotel so we booked a couple of nights again.
When I called I was not informed that the hotel had a
"ruhetag" both the nights we booked.
So when we arrived the hotel was almost closed down.
Bar closed, restaurant closed and the whole place virtually empty.
It all felt very strange and we checked out after only one night.
I think it would be proper to inform guests when booking about this.
There should also be a reduction in the room rate on such nights
as almost all amenities are non-existing.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2014

coming back here.
It´s a nice old place in the middle of town.
Rooms are nice and clean, but make sure that you get a room in the main building.
The pub is a very special place and the restaurant serves good food.
Prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ellwangen is slightly off the main tourist trail (thank God) but very close to the A7 Autobahn. I discovered it and the Roter Ochsen many years ago on the way from Italy to Northern Germany. On my most recent visit, I noticed many changes, including a pedestrianised town centre which makes for a very pleasant and relaxing environment.
Ellwangen was and is a major episcopal seat; the prince bishops were very powerful in Swabia and the town retains many splendid ecclesiastical buildings.
The family-owned Roter Ochsen Hotel is central, its front door leading right to the pedestrianised town centre. The main building is hundreds of years old but a new modern extension has been built at the rear, with an underground car park. Our room was in the new building, spacious and well-appointed and spotlessly clean. An ample breakfast was served in the main building, with hot and cold choices. Some patrons were clearly businessmen but there were also private (mostly) German guests, for the weekend.
I can recommend both Ellwangen and the Roter Ochsen. We had our bicycles with us and there is plenty of choice for good cycling routes in the area, often with challenging hills. In May, the area was fairly quiet. Ellwangen is also a good base for other regional sights, such as the Porsche and Mercedes museums in Stuttgart, the medieval town of Dinkelsbuhl and the Swabian Alps.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelWinnerRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We found this hotel thru the Flair Hotel book which is an association of hotel/breweries. The hotel itself is average and a bit tattered at the edges. The evening we stayed the temperatures have been in the 90s and the hotel lacks air conditioning. This was a bit uncomfortable from my American perspective. We sated on a Monday and the restaurant was closed. Apparently the brewery is in another location. The breakfast was included in the reasonable room price. The hotel lacked the wow factor, but the location is great. It sits at the end of the a 4-5 block pedestrian only shopping/restaurant city center area. The buildings are well-maintained and in use with some dating back to 1300. The area seemed as if it was used more by the locals as opposed to a tourist destination. The area had many walking trails which highlighted a number of beautiful homes. Adjacent to the city is a castle and a monastery both worth a visit. Ellwangen was a pleasant surprise. If I traveled to Ellwangen again, I'd try a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazmansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Our second visit to this place didn´t disappoint us.
In the middle of town with a private garage has a
feeling of welcome all over it.
It is the kind of hotel where you can easily stay for
a few nights while exploring Ellwangen and the area around.
The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and pleasant
and there is very little outside noice.
Also, the restaurant serves good mainly traditional food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ellwangen hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Konigin Olga
Hotel Konigin Olga
#2 of 6 in Ellwangen
39 reviews
3.1 km away
Montana Hotel Ellwangen
Montana Hotel Ellwangen
#1 of 6 in Ellwangen
37 reviews
3.5 km away
Klozbuecher - Das Landhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
No photo provided
Stadthotel Germania
#5 of 6 in Ellwangen
8 reviews
2.3 km away
Landgasthof Hirsch
Landgasthof Hirsch
#1 of 5 in Ellwangen
30 reviews
1.6 km away
No photo provided
Haus Schoenenberg
#6 of 6 in Ellwangen
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roter Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roter Ochsen

Address: Schmiedstr. 16, 73479 Ellwangen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ellwangen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ellwangen
Price Range: €96 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roter Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roter Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing