We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gordon's Bay Luxury Apartments
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

The beauty of God's creation is marred by the lack of adequate management here.

Confusion started with the booking in process_ wrong room.

No emergency lighting or even candles when there was a power outage.

No matches or fire lighter for the braai.

The bed was not made up when the unit was serviced; neither was the bin cleaned in the main bathroom_ the dirty baby diaper was still left there that we found there two days ago.

Certain lights do not work.

No liquid soap in the dispensers.

We definitely will not return.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wgordon2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Not only did the apartment take my breath away when we first entered it,we were further amazed at the picturesque view of the ocean and town. Went back the following week for another stay. Can't get enough. Beautiful!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Gordons Bay, a small town full of character. Its the best place to stay in if you need short access to stellenbosch and franschoek and the scenary is breath-taking. My wife and I going back there, this time no kids.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lethukuthulasandilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Relations Manager at Gordon's Bay Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Dear Nzuza Family

Thank you very much for the review. We are glad that the whole family had a wonderful time in Gordon's Bay. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Warren Ndlovu
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@homefromhome.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We stayed in this 3 bed apartment again. The view from the balcony is quite wonderful and we saw loads of dolphin, Bryde's whales, Humpback Whales and even a mini sardine run on 2 separate occasions. The accommodation is just fine but it has slipped backwards over the time we have been coming. Perhaps investment is not forthcoming as it has not been upgraded and is beginning to look a little tired. Extractor fan on balcony did not work for a long time meaning that if those living below had a braai, sitting outside became impossible. Wireless facilities outstanding and beds and bedrooms very comfortable. Lounge furniture is however uncomfortable. Having washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher in apartment is a huge bonus but kitchen needs to be reconfigured to accommodate these items properly (including fridge freezer).

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ineke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Relations Manager at Gordon's Bay Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear Valued Guest

Home from Home would like to thank you for making our Gordon's Bay apartments your home for the last 5 years. We appreciate your loyalty. All the issues you have raised have now been escalated to Management for attention so that we make your future stays even better.

See you again when you return.

Kind regards
Warren Ndlovu
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@homefromhome.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We return to this wonderful place for the second time. It is easy to reach the place from Air port. Very good parking, we could reach our apartment direct from garage. Good equipped and with an excellent view.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 481leifg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Relations Manager at Gordon's Bay Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you so much for returning to our Gordon's Bay apartments. We hope you will make us your permanent choice whenever you visiting the area. Your review gives us such pleasure as it shows that your stay was wonderful.

We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays with Home from Home.

Kind regards
Warren Ndlovu
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@homefromhome.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
1 km away
185 Beach Road Boutique Suites & Apartments
5.7 km away
Melite Boutique Rooms
Melite Boutique Rooms
#17 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
3 reviews
1.7 km away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Helderberg Guesthouse
Helderberg Guesthouse
#13 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
56 reviews
5.7 km away
Sleepy Backpackers
Sleepy Backpackers
#16 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
26 reviews
2.6 km away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon's Bay Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon's Bay Luxury Apartments

Address: 20 Protea Drive, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Gordon's Bay
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gordon's Bay Luxury Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 30 minutes from Cape Town and close to Stellenbosch, Gordon's Bay is the ideal location to experience well known attractions and all the Cape has to offer. Our luxury self-catering apartments in Gordon's Bay are situated in Atlantic View and Protea Place on the mountainside overlooking the mountains and ocean. There is an outdoor pool, barbecue facilities, spacious bedrooms, open plan kitchen, dining/lounge area with separate bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gordon's Bay Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing