We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic views and a real "home from home"”
View across False Bay from Highcliffe House pool and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across False Bay from Highcliffe House pool and patio
Highcliffe House looking towards the Hottentots Holland mountains Highcliffe House Luxury Suites pool and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View across False Bay from Highcliffe House pool and patio
Highcliffe House looking towards the Hottentots Holland mountains
Highcliffe House Luxury Suites pool and patio
Patio and Pool
Sunset over False Bay from Highcliffe House
Merlot Bedroom
Merlot Suite Kitchen from the breakfast bar
Merlot Balcony looking towards the Helderberg mountain
View from Merlot Balcony across to the back of Table Mountain
The Patio for all
Highcliffe House Pool looking towards the Helderberg
Another sunset
Around the Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gordon's Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda T
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and a real "home from home"”
Reviewed 22 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We just got back from 2 wonderful days at Highcliffe House - Merlot Suite. Even though it rained all weekend, it really didn't matter as the apartment was so lovely that it was a pleasure to just spend time there relaxing. The view from both the lounge and bedroom was absolutely stunning and, although windy, the balcony was sheltered.

The attention to detail in the apartment was amazing and we couldn't think of anything that it didn't have even down to umbrellas, shopping bags, snackwich toaster and cotton buds! There was a FULL DSTV Satellite bouquet, which meant that we didn't have to miss the cricket and gave us something to watch while the rain came down outside.

This is one of the best establishments we have ever visited and wouldn't hesitate going back there - we really felt at home from the moment we walked through the door!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and spaciousness of the suite.
Liked least: Nothing that I can think of
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrantC25
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“An Amazing Break When Needed Most”
Reviewed 11 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I recently had a weekend away with my partner at the Merlot Suite in Gordons Bay. We are both very busy individuals with fairly stressful careers and we both desperately needed a break! We got a lot more than we bargained for! The house is amazing and the views are to die for! The fire place came in very handy in the evenings. It was the break we needed and I cant wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and house itself! So relaxing!!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerdean M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 3 February 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed at The HighCliffe house in the Merlot Suite for our 7th wedding anniversary. We could not have asked for anything more suited. We had such a relaxing marvelous time and would definitely go back. The views are stunning and the apartment neat and beautiful with all the luxuries. Jim and Jane are the perfect hosts

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and beautiful views
Liked least: Nothing I can really think of
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diep River Cape Town
Reviewed 25 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town
Reviewed 17 September 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing