We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little cottage in lovely rural location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garden Cottage

Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper
The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
The open plan kitchen is well equipped
The main double bedroom overlooks the courtyard
The twin bedroom overlooks a quiet country lane
The wetroom has a WC, hand-basin and shower
The private garden patio and picnic table - accessed through French doors from the sitting room
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of daffodil in our gardens.
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in the late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildlife meadow at the top of Humphrey's hill
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of stunning coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
Play area with two towers, bridge, slide, swing, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pete1181
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great little cottage in lovely rural location”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Would definitely recommend staying here, perfect place to relax and enjoy the surroundings of Exmoor.
Will definitely be coming back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, Challacombe is a lovely, peaceful village - we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallB...
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good disabled facilities, but could be improved upon”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My friend I was travelling with uses a powered wheelchair (not full time) and we were able to access the garden cottage with it easily to re-charge it in the evenings. A full time user might find the gravel outside a bit challenging though. Excellent wetroom but did leave a suggestion that the proprietors might like to consider a shower seat, either fitted or portable.
The cottage generally was really good. Excellent small enclosed courtyard area where the two little dogs could be let out in safety. The beds were a little uncomfortable in that I could feel every spring in the mattress, and did leave a suggestion that some mattress overlays might be a good investment. The grounds generally were lovely with a fabulous looking childrens play area at the top of the hill behind the cottage. Particularly liked the philosophy of John and Mel and what they are trying to do with sustainability, re-cycling etc.
Perfect peaceful spot for exploring Exmoor and we will return for another visit I'm sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: The mattresses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review. Alas we are not able to be more accessible for wheelchairs but do allow vehicles into the courtyard and very close to the door of Garden Cottage for people with limited mobility. We are looking into a portable shower seat.
The mattresses in Garden Cottage were bought new for the 2014 season, they are mid-range and some guests love them and others do not...they are a difficult thing to judge.

We are glad that you and your two little dogs enjoyed our gardens and grounds. Town Tenement Farm really is a peaceful spot!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaseMac12...
Wolverhampton, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can we go again?”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Garden Cottage for a week at the beginning of October. The cottage is very clean and cosy and was spacious enough for our needs (including our 8 month old labrador puppy). The little garden area outside the cottage was well enclosed so we had no fears that the dog could get out. The cottages at Tenement Farm are very dog-friendly - I think most of the occupants had at least one dog with them that week.

The owners John and Melanie were very welcoming and informative.

The local area is beautiful with some good scenic walks. The Black Venus pub is well worth a visit. We ate there twice in the evenings (lovely food). It was very busy both nights, so I would advise getting there earlier in the evening. The local shop came in very handy on occasions.

The WiFi works well for surfing the internet and sending emails etc.

The kitchen is well equipped, although there were a couple of very minor issues - a couple of items of crockery were chipped and one or two of the kitchen utensils had seen better days. However nothing would stop us from staying there again. Our only regret is that the week went too quickly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review - we are so sorry that you had problems with your crockery - I must have missed them when I got the cottage ready for your arrival, they have now been replaced.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the WiFi useful. The Black Venus has award winning food - what a bonus for our guests that it is so close. Challacombe and Exmoor are beautiful all year round - and it goes without saying that you certainly can 'come again', we look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage with all you could need and welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My mother, sister and I had a really lovely week here and although we were fortunate in having good weather, the cottage was so clean and comfortable that I don't think bad weather would necessarily spoil a stay here. It had all you needed for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings. 'Humphreys Hill' was a delight for our dog and the welcome we all received, (four-footed and two- footed), was warm and friendly. John gave us helpful advice on places to visit and even lent us a map which was invaluable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay - the maps are great for finding hidden gems.

We look forward to seeing you again at Town Tenement Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelyn2...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“compact, cosy and convienient”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely cottage which was well equipped. The owner was friendly and helpful, giving perfect directions when asked . the only complaints were that the the single bed was very hard and a sever lack of adequate hanging space but other than that we had a most enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the bed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you liked Challacombe, it is a lovely village.
We were sorry to hear that you found the single bed hard, some people like soft and some prefer hard. The single beds in Garden Cottage are both new for this year and we went for firmer mattresses. There are four singles in Farmhouse, two are firm and two are softer - perhaps you might consider Farmhouse if you visit us again.
There is the wardrobe in the double bedroom and a small wardrobe in the twin bedroom - we do mention in our advertising that there is not much storage space in Garden Cottage, and we apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused.
We are glad that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing