We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
43
39
18
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
39
18
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Nothing to bother. Early July was the best choice to visit Shimoda. No tourist just calm. I stayed at Shimoda view hotel for 3 night. Their bedding is really nice & comfortable which made me to buy the same one. The view from the room was just fantastic both sunrise&sunset. Food was delicious and they serves it on time to your room. Friendly workers. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank HyojinA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel could do with some TLC in a few spots. No doubt this will happen.

But the staff were wonderful, the food magnificent and the location great. A lovely family friendly beach. It seemed a tad expensive at first but it included our fabulous meals. There are supermarkets nearby too, if needed.

It seems that most rooms have futons, a bit of a shock to this westerner. But you get used to this very quickly. Loved the kimonos they supplied for our use, too.

Overall a wonderful experience!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shimov, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2016
Google Translation

この度はご来館本当にありがとうございました。
お料理のお褒めのお言葉ありがとうございました。又、ビーチやお部屋からのロケーションをお楽しみ頂けたことと私達も嬉しく思います。
慣れない生活習慣にも感動を抱いていただき嬉しい限りです。
是非日本にお越しの際は下田ビューホテルへお泊りくださいませ。
心よりお待ちいたしております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

I keep returning to Izu, this was May be my 10th time. Stayed at some hotels and ryokans here. This time needed something special for as a romantic birthday trip. I prob will not stay here during the weekend/ holidays, as the hotel seems quite a tourists place. But, since we were the only guests, it seems bed the purpose. The room was great and the food was really really good. The baths were with a view and close to the beach. Why I still will keep looking further is that the service, although impeccable, is still extremely Japanese rigid. (Except for our room host, Kato san who was really a pearl). Although the hotel was totally empty we were not allowed to check in 15 min earlier...
And we also were requested to to buy a drink in order to get free internet. That was external surprising, considering the price we payed. Pity, as this hotel could have attracted more international guests. But may be they don't aim for that.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tansob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shimov, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Thank you for this your staying.
And I received your impressions.
I think your opinion is right,and also useful to me.
I'll aim at an international hotel.
We appreciate your continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews