We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location, views, accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Craiglea Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Latheronwheel, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LFKUk
UK
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful but needing repair”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I feel churlish to write a somewhat critical review as I'm staying here as guest of my niece who won 5 nights at Craiglea in a competition, so the stay is free.

The good things: wonderful location, fantastic swimming pool, comfortable and enjoyable place for a family holiday. There are 11 of us, including 3 youngsters (14, 13 and 10) who are spending every spare moment in the pool. The place is easily big enough for a relaxing stay for a family ranging in age from 10 to 75.

The not so good things: so many niggly little things that need attention. Blinds warped and in need of replacement in the pool area. Curtains halfway falling off (reported by previous reviewers but not fixed). Broken windows in the barn (no ingress of water as the outer pane of double glazing but still unsightly). Dishwasher broken in the barn kitchen. Many lightbulbs blown and in need of replacement. Eccentric distribution of crockery, cutlery, glassware and cooking pots/utensils between the barn and main kitchen, necessitating dashing between the two kitchens whilst in middle of cooking. Extractor fan in the "disabled" bathroom not working. No disabled shower or bath so hardly a proper disabled bathroom. Garden in ruinous state. Barbecue rusted away. Dead flies on the floor of one of the sitting rooms when we arrived. Sticky floor in the kitchen when we arrived. Dirty rug in the sitting room nearest the kitchen. Big pile of religious books in a foreign script in one of the sitting rooms (the Koran, the Torah, the Guru Granth Sahib, I'm not sure???) - that one is just a bit odd. Paintwork outside needs attention. Shower in the only en suite has no shower head and scolded my sister.

Overall there's somewhat a feeling of neglect which is very sad. I'm glad my niece isn't paying for this stay as otherwise I think we'd feel hard done by. Since its a free holiday we are just very happy to be here and are having a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ftempleto...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, views, accomodation”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our second time here and again we all thoroughly enjoyed it, great to wake up and look out at all the deer in the fields, then pop down for a swim, the location is just perfect for a quiet and relaxing break

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWoodward...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend, house ideal for special occasion!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed here to celebrate 40th birthday 9 adults and 9 children. The house and barn are well equipped and offered plenty of space. Kids had a great time in the pool. Laura was welcoming and coped well with the kids following her around trying to pick the their room!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey123...
aberdeenshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs attention”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We booked the three lodges out for all of our family to go on holiday together. The pool was great, all kids and adults loved it. We had it all to ourselves with booking the three lodges which was great. I personally stayed in the smaller cottage that stands itself. The door to get into the property had a birds nest right above it and on the ground was a foul mess. The house was really nice but needs attention, the windows upstairs in the living room were smashed with a bit on the outside pane missing. It didn't cause a draft but seemed a bit dangerous. The curtains were held up with sharp hooks which I caught my finger on a couple of times. We also couldn't let the children out to play on the grass as it was covered in very large weeds and the trampoline was broken and turned upside down. There is a BBQ to use as and when you want but it was very old and dirty looking so we didn't bother. The seating area outside was all dirty and moss on it so it couldn't be used. If it wasn't for the pool the children would of been very disappointed as they couldn't play outside. We were lucky to have booked the 3 houses as ours didn't have enough pots and utensils to cook a meal so we were all sharing between the two kitchens as the two main houses only had one kitchen as one of them are kept locked as it's the owners one. Our dishwasher was out of order and our heating didn't work to start with but the maintenance guy came and fixed the heating straight away. All of the outside lights attached to the houses didn't work so when we left the main house at night with our three little ones we really struggled to see. Upstairs in the stand alone cottage hardly any lights worked, bulbs needed changed. As you enter the front door to the cottage only half the door opened fine, there was a part of the roof/slat that had fallen down so you had to lift it up before you could open the door. The paint work on their website of the houses look lovely as well as the grass but when you are there the paint work is quite bad and the weeds were terrible. All these small things could easily be fixed but on this occasion there was to many small things that made it really bad.

Longman family.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing